DIVA QUEEN

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

IMG20180304134511.jpg

Here is a story about my mama. In KADAZAN we call our mum Nina. My Nina is 75 years young and still counting lol.. Today is my treat for her as she is celebrating her birthday on 21st March, I brought her to my Favourite hair saloon and get her hair perm like "Saloma's". Tadaaaaaaaaaa now she can look for boyfriend already. hahahaha

IMG20180304134430.jpg

Nice "Saloma's" *Hairdo

It's never been easy for my Nina in her earliest days. Being the eldest of 7 siblings and a women, my grandparents denied her to have education. She has to work to make ends meet to feed her family and sent her younger siblings to school. I still remember my Nina said to me when we drinking our Guinness that her biggest regrets in life is not having an education.

20170922_201622.jpg

Nina and her siblings. Missing 2 uncles (both went to happy hour)

IMG-20170815-WA0030.jpg

Nina and "Tumpung"

Nina got married late at the age of 33 (In the 1970'S if your are not married before the age of 20 ish, you are considered a spinster/old maid). My father is 12 years younger than my Nina so he left her after 16th years of marriage. I have never really lived with my father in my whole life, so My Nina really took a role as a father and mother to the 3 of us (I am the youngest of 3 sisters) She really inspired me a lot in my life and I am thankful for that. My family has struggled a lot since Nina is the only bread winner for our family. That is why in my younger years we (my sisters and I) were forced to study and excel in our school. She rather had us doing our homework and studying than doing household chores or other things. Not to mention Nina also has to balance working, planting rice and taking care of my sisters and me.

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-04 at 21.46.57.jpeg

Nina and her 3 beautiful daughters

But, despites all the difficult years of growing up, I am really happy and proud to say that we all turn out to good daughters. My Nina get irritated easily (her temper is like volcanoes) but she has a great sense of humor and a big heart. I still remember when my father is very sick, she come and visit him and also met his new wife. I salutes my Nina for NOT freaking out that time while meeting my stepmother and her kids. She made friends with the auntie and let go of the pass. Even after my father passing 8 years ago, if it happens my Nina saw my stepmother, she will come and says hello to her.

I really value what my Nina have done to us and without her I might not be were I am today. I have my Nina stubbornness, her quick temper and her soft heart (DANGEROUS as we FORGIVES very easily but we never FORGETS) hahahaha. I too, like my Nina believed in the power of Education to Empower people.

IMG20180304133524.jpg

Here is a photo of the 3 generation of Madam Rose Louia. (My Nina, My niece Imut and Me)

20170929_102833.jpg

My nina and her best friends, I brought them to Miri to visit my Che - Che

That's all for today. Thank you for reading. Till next time bye bye.

Love,
kilathecla

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

thank you again. cheers

very nice and inspiring story @kilathecla your nina is a strong woman you and your siblings are very lucky to have her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68