How Steemit Helped Me Today | Cashing Out My SBD For The First Time

in #teammalaysia6 years ago


I have been on Steemit little over 6 months now. From the day I was in until just now, I have not cashed out any of my earnings on Steemit. I always had it saved to keep it accumulating on its own. To a point I actually forgot my posts actually makes STEEM/SBD. I just enjoy writing here whenever I have the time. Due to certain personal issues, I couldn't continue writing as I used to. Making time became a struggle. Now, I am writing this because today, Steemit helped me in the real world. This may not seem so big compared to some of you out there who have been aided by what you have earned here on Steemit but to me, this is a big help considering my current situation.

So, my family and myself have faced a serious financial problem recently and things were not as smooth or manageable as it was. I am a person just like any child in a family, do not like to burden my parents with expenses. I handle my own expenses. But with the job opportunities on the weak end, I am surviving with freelance business doing audio engineering. It's not that supportive due to the lack of professionalism in the majority to rely on clients. Either I get or I don't. However, I was moving. I don't drive a car, I keep myself convenient with a motorbike. That's where the problem occurred for me.

Since the past week, my bike's rear tyre kept going flat. I know for a fact that it needs fixing. But spending so much for family due to the financial issue, I was left with little to nothing to spend on fixing my bike. I could wait for some of my clients to pay which may take the next few hours to the next days, weeks even months. The problem was, I had to bring my mother to the hospital the next day and here I am with a bike and a flat tyre. With nobody around to ask for help. I was left sitting wondering what am I going to do? Steem was the savior of the day. This was the 1st time I cashed out my Steem Dollars into my local currency which will aid my bike repairs, crypto lending a hand in real world. This money that I received from selling my SBD is going to help me move on with fixing my bike and allow me to do what I'm suppose to do the next day which is an emergency too. That alone, took a big load off of my shoulders.

As I've mentioned before, this is literally nothing compared to many here who have been aided by Steemit. Our very own Steemit's @teammalaysia have done several charities through Steemit which is truly amazing. But if you could step into my shoes, you would understand how relieving this is personally. To be able to say "I can keep moving now". I can't thank the people behind Steemit and the Steemit community itself enough for this. It's not just a platform, it's also an insurance for future if it's done right and not solely for money alone. Some day, it will be there for you.

Cryptocurrency is a digital world where we can't see what's happening in it. We don't know what's certain and what's not. But, it is here and it is growing. And today, it helped me when I didn't have a real world option to help me. I felt like sharing this experience to the community that helped me. I hope this delivered something to all of you. Keep this amazing community strong. We can do wonders if it's all done right. A small help like mine today can be a global scale aid in the future which may already be happening that I'm not aware of.

Thank you again for having me a part of this community and taking your time to read this. I will try to make time to deliver more knowledgeable content. Until the next time, have a beautiful day everyone. Cheers!


"I wish to have a purpose for the volume knob..."
Your UpVotes will keep me contributed and allow me to grow further in my career.

Follow me on other social media.
Twitter
Instagram


Check out these amazing Steemit initiatives for musicians as well!
Hip Hop The Blockchain
Record Pool
Block Mountain


Sort:  

Can't wait for the day you can buy spare bike parts directly with crypto. I also post on steemit to be part of an interesting new social/economic project, but who know if those SBD will come in handy for me too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80