The Story Behind Yee Sang

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

"According to Chinese legend, the goddess Nu Wa spent six days creating animals out of mud, while on the seventh she created humanity.

Ren Ri, the Day of Humankind, is correspondingly celebrated on the seventh day of Chinese New Year. To celebrate this day, the Chinese enjoy a special dish comprising seven symbolic delicacies which we know as Yee Sang.

When Yee Sang is eaten, the ritual is to toss the mixed ingredients high in the air with a shout of "Loh Hey" which literally means to ‘move upwards’. It is symbolic of the wish for our fortunes to rise and expand during the forthcoming year."
Source

What it means to me?

Growing up and born a Catholic, my family never really did follow all the traditions or customary when it came to celebrating Chinese New Year (CNY). Basically, the only two traditions that we do and still follow every year are the reunion dinners on the eve of CNY and also on Chap Goh Mei (the last day of CNY festival which is normally celebrated on the 15th day of CNY and is also known as the Chinese Valentine's Day).

I think I was like 16 or 17 years old when I was first introduced to Yee Sang (as a dish)! Haha... I never really knew what it meant or why we ate it. To me was a like an expensive CNY fancy dish. I even went to the extend of creating my own version of Yee Sang using cucumber, pamelo, red carrots, slices of fresh salmon, red cabbage, Japanese seaweed and homemade vinaigrette as a dressing!

However this year, I had the opportunity to have the "Yee Sang" twice! Once at HSBC Bank CNY dinner at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa and the second was at my company's CNY Open House just this week.


Yee Sang at HSBC Bank CNY Dinner at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu


Yee Sang at my company's CNY Open House courtesy of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

In conjunction with my company's 23rd Anniversary, we had decided to have an elaborate and lavish celebration. It was also the first time in 10 years since working with my company did we have such an auspicious CNY Open House. We had invited over 150 guests including banks, developers and government agencies. This was also done as part of our initiative to establish and strengthen our networks and relationships with our clients. FUH!


Yee Sang session with my whole office. Can you spot @baileyrose and @pandancmf?

Would like to take this opportunity to wish all Steemians a very HAPPY CHAP GOH MEI & and may this new year continue to bring you good health, happiness and prosperity in all your endeavours!

HUAT AHHH HUAT AHHHHH!!!


Sort:  

What a great inspirational story! Thank you for sharing it with us! I will Resteem for you, you can Follow me?

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Yee Sang session with my whole office. Can you spot @baileyrose and @pandancmf?

I spotted @baileyrose but not @pandancmf. Haven't met yet.

Happy Chap Goh Mei or should I say, Happy Chinese Valentine?

Thanks for sharing.

Hahaha.... thanks, @papanog! Will try to introduce to everyone @pandancmf in person in our next gathering. She’s shy bah! 😅

Is she the one using red coloured flowers shirt?

Is she the one using red coloured flowers shirt?

Yes! You guessed it right @papanog! Good guess! 👍🏼👏🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65