DIY restoration - spray painting the front grill

in #teammalaysia6 years ago


It was a beautiful Sunday morning, headed out for breakfast in Tesco nearby my house. As usual, I'd prefer to reverse parking at the car park lot, so I can leave without worrying my car getting rear ended by others. And this beautiful Sunday morning, even I parked properly inside the box, as I leave I realized the front bumper has a huge dent to it. The frontal part was slightly bent inside. Upon detail inspection, there was bracks on the grill as well.


Not only the bottom part, the top part as well. As we all know, this kind of Polyurethane material has high elasticity and tensile strength, but once it has a crack, that become a fatigue and will spread across until it was totally cracked.


Even before this incident, the grill paint was faded anyway, so I decided this must be an excuse for me to take the grill off, give it some repair and possibly a new paint so the car doesn't look so horrible.


As I started cleaning the grill inside out, I also noticed the badge holder has many serious crack marks during the impact. I mean, come on man. My car was parked there and someone could crash into it just like that. Is my car really that small until you don't see a car parked there and you had to reverse into my bonnet?


Without further ado, let's glue those cracks with 3 second super glue. This type of glue are chloroform. Very bad for health despite they claimed they're not. It is highly recommended to wear glove and mask, keep some distance to avoid inhaling these toxic fume emitted from the glue itself.


Once all the patching work done, time to put on masking tape to cover up the black color bee pollen grill area. I picked up some basic spray painting knowledge many years ago. One gotta realized that, the skill to paint is only like 20% of the job, other than that, the preparation work does 80% of the after effect! So, yeah! Need to outline with an extra layer of masking tape before start covering up with newspaper.


Then the newspaper to cover up the already outlined masking tape.


As I begin, once I pressed on the silver spray, there's nothing came up. There's not even gas in it anymore. So I put the silver spray can aside. Then I took out a can of high gloss black paint I used it to restored my Semi Hollow Jazz guitar 2 years ago. As I shake it, yeah there's balance in the can. So I started spray painting the grill. After I sprayed a few lines, and the bugger ran off!!! OMG! The prep work has done, all the foundation work has been laid, and now ran out of paint!


Let's cut the long story short, in the end I didn't manage to buy back a can of high gloss paint. I had to settle with high heat resistance paint. But somehow, the result is quite stunning with these matte black! It looks a lot like Batman don't you think?


There's still a small bent on the bumper and the headlamp was a little off. Atleast the grill is now glued aqnd properly installed back into where it supposed to be. The rest, we will find another excuse to work on it later. Thank you for reading and I hope within very short period of time I will make another blog entry about restoring headlamps. Since the headlamp is still considerably bright for now, hence I have no itention to restore it just yet. I don't wanna make 1 small mistake and spoil the whole headlamp. Despite it's not expansive, but no point wasting money from stupid mistakes.

I would like to thank all my friends and family who has been supporting me. Feel free to leave me feedback by clicking below yellow banner. > 谢谢大家一直以来的支持和对我疼爱有加。如果方便,请你点击下图到我的个人资料网页为我留言请我吃星星哈。

cn.jpg
 

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS
 

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://davidke20.vornix.blog/2018/07/22/diy-restoration-spray-painting-the-front-grill/

Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2018-07-24) 榜单 【优秀被错过的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2018-07-24) 【Good Posts You May Miss】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

Whenever we see some cracks on our vehicles then for sure that will going to give bad essence because we hold connection with our vehicles and we need it in perfect form.

And i hope that now these cracks will be worked upon and now you can see new stuff, and whenever we get something repaired then new stuff will hold the shine effect.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Hehe. Thanks buddy! Yeah I'm happy to see it restored. The only thing less perfect is, the color is off. But that's OK for now, since the car is not anywhere near it's perfect form. As long it doesn't fall apart, I'm grateful for it doesn't cost me a bomb to repair.

Welcome and good to hear that the cost was economical. 🙂

All done DIY? wow that must have costed hundreds in the workshop!!

Yeah. The paint costs 13. The rest are all what I can found in the house.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-22T15:29:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 638.10/200.00
Total Photos: 101
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.95 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks buddy. Oh why it dropped to 0.95% instead?

你好!欢迎在steemauto里设置跟赞 @cnbuddy 给整个cn区点赞如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

点赞力还不够,已经跟了 @team-cn

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Thank you boss

I think....now it looks like you replaced the grille but ran out of money to paint it with the car's color XD

True that. Lemme try to get a can of acrylic paint and make it shine.

I'm taking notes to see if I can repair the bumper of my car myself

If I were you, I'd rather let the car look less presentable to deter thiefs away

man i'm too lazy to fix my own car.. 😐

Fixing car can be fun, but only when one can make it as a hobby. Put myself in your shoe, fixing codes can be fun 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69