167km run yet the base is white, clean, radiant as new

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

IMG_20171209_081931_HHT.jpg

Do you have a problem with your white color shoe base? It's easily get all kinds of marks and stripes all the time. Over a little short of 1 month, the shoes would probably looks somewhat like been through a war zone.

This is my beloved Adidas Cloudform, got it at a bargain RM155(about 38U$) several months ago. Until today, trackable running done 167km, but I'm guessing it went through easily 500km as I also wear it for casual outgoing during the weekends, as well as Thursday and Friday going to work. Oftenly I get people commenting whether I am wearing a "new" shoe. I really like to keep the base very-very clean and white all the time.

IMG_20171209_081945.jpg

An old tooth brush, tooth paste, wet cloth. Firstly, moist the tooth brush, put some tooth paste, and start brushing. Despite the photo shown at the beginning looks white, but they are dirt and accumulating a lot of stain that we didn't realize.

IMG_20171209_082302.jpg

Once done brushing, wipe them off and make sure it's clean. Otherwise those tooth paste dried on the beautiful blue shoe will looks like a beautiful girl accidentally put her lipstick to the nose. Here's the comparison before and after. I don't know whether you can tell the difference, but trust me if you don't do it now, you're not going to do it forever.

IMG_20171209_082713.jpg
The right shoe in the picture has been cleaned

IMG_20171209_082653.jpg
The shoe on the left side(right shoe) has been cleaned

IMG_20171209_082800.jpg

Yup. The last time I thought I'm going to clean the shoe once I can see the dirtiness is obvious. Trust me, by the time you realized the base went grey/brow/black or whatever dirty color it is, its already too late. You can't clean those stain anymore.

IMG_20171209_083618.jpg

Here. Properly cleaned. Rest of the shoe I will use wet cloth to wipe off dirt and stains. Here are some of the extras I do to keep this shoe nice and new and clean.

  1. I don't purposely change socks every 4 hours, but I do change socks everytime when I came back home. There will be exceptional case, like went out for breakfast with kids for an hour, then came back home. I will reuse the socks if it's within the same day.
  2. Brush, clean and wipe the base on weekly basis, particularly after Sunday run.
  3. Keep the shoe exposed to open air, never keep in the enclosure cupboard.
  4. Never soak into soap water over night. The only event I had was the parking lot went flooded, my shoes were covered with mud after I managed to collect my car. Immediately I rinse the mud off after I reached home. Chuck the shoes into a laundry net, throw them into the washing machine and did 1 cycle of cleaning and spin dry.
Sort:  

Thanks for the tips. Keep running! Followed u :)

Thanks buddy. Will hop on to yours this evening.

This is great! Our running shoes seem to look great for like 2 seconds, and then you can barely tell between 3 second old shoes and 3 year old shoes.

That said though, if I'm around friends and my shoes are too clean... they'll totally stamp on them to bring them upto code (ie, gross like theirs).

Rotflmao. Change your friends then.

Please clean my heels can ar 😆

First, we go buy some new socks. Then u start wearing socks every time u wear your shoes.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @davidke20 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29