MDC and the legendary Phil Taylor

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

In early 2013 . I founded Malaysia Darts Corporation (MDC) a social enterprise, the goal was for the promotion darts and to assist and consolidate local darting scene to be much of an organization. In Sabah, the darting scene is without an association hence the idea came about after I was approach by several senior darters to come out and assist the dart development in the states.

FB_IMG_1502070506531.jpg

We established an accepted ranking system dubbed the Borneo Order of Merits , build website for online registration and run series of sanction event (paid by dart tournament organizers) throughout the year. At the end of a season, an event organizer runs MDC Masters.

FB_IMG_1502070195209.jpg

Money collected throughout the season is put back as price money and given back to the darting community. Winner of the team event at MDC masters also get sponsored to compete at Malaysia Open organized by Malaysia Darts Association. Hence the concept.

FB_IMG_1502070455553.jpg

FB_IMG_1502070477793.jpg

During this time, I didn't focus to come back as a player but my goal was to help strategized, curate the idea and execution for the community.

In 2014 , MDC was approach by Lemon and Limelight Events to assist them with connecting them local stakeholder and government agencies in their role as appointed event organizer for PDC South Asia Qualifier 2014.

FB_IMG_1502070266512.jpg

Unfortunately as very last minute days before the event, some internal issue takes place between the appointed event organizer and event license holder, MDC decided to take a step back so not to be in any part of the unwarranted drama.

FB_IMG_1502070560151.jpg

In much earlier setting prior to the event, MDC and Lemon and Limelight Events manage to arrange the hosting of over 16 times world champ Phil Taylor to Sabah, Malaysia Borneo.

FB_IMG_1502070369290.jpg

It was indeed a pleasure to have a chance to meet the legend more importantly to be inspired by his success in the sports that we all love.

FB_IMG_1502070281123.jpg

IMG_20170807_023146.jpg

IMG_20170807_023019.jpg

  • When Phil Taylor said next world champ could be a Malaysian, I hope he was thinking about me. LOL.

  • Now I am back focus in my darts dream, do like my facebook page, and see my growth. Cheers in advance.

https://www.facebook.com/doughtydartsmalaysia/

Sort:  

I've seen the Dart Championships on TV and it's crazy! I didn't know people loved the sport so much. I know my friends here in KL have been into it for a while and how the whole E-Darts craze has hit.. what do you think about that @danieldoughty?

Do you know that dart is 2nd most watch sport on telly after football. Hehe. Gamification of the sports just bring darts to the next level. Hopefully to Olympics. Hehehe...

That I didn't know. I thought it was NBA. This is worldwide TV you're talking about. That's crazy!

Mahu minta tunjuk ajar sudah ni sifu. Hehe.

Boleh bah bro hehe

😎😎😎

welcome @Danieldoughty ! hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thank you, hope you enjoy reading it

welcome to steemit @danieldoughty, i hope we can be friends.

Sure thing. I hope too as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75