I made a huge mistake

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Last night I made a huge mistake.

maxresdefault.jpg
Source


My laptop has been hanging on me for the past 3 weeks, halfway doing my work, everything stop I got no choice but to restart the laptop. This happen all the time.

Things I done to improve my laptop disaster :

  1. Deleted not important data

  2. Remove rubbish software.

  3. Did disk clean up

  4. Defrag my hard disk

And yet, it still screws up. It can figure it out. It came to a point I was really pissed.

So what does a normal person do when one is pissed. Make yourself a vanilla with chocolate chip banana split ice cream.

IMG20180305140231.jpg

So here is also where the huge mistake comes about.

I decided to split my hard disk And get it running more than half on Ubuntu while I leave the rest of my important document on window. I know I know.. It's that moment of testing, I thought it was a genius idea.

So while I was installing Ubuntu and enjoying my at peace therapy, I somehow mistakenly erase my hard disk.

HOLY SHITTT, Everything is gone, I mean my everything, photos, research paper, work related, my so called never ending "how much is enough" material, a book, I am trying to finish. Everything .. Everything..

I couldn't believe that mistake Ive made. I install Ubuntu in the past without any fuss. Holy cow.

So in order to stop beating myself for my own mistake, what do you think a normal person do? ..... Exactly.

IMG20180305140231.jpg

Round Two


After relaxing a little, got out of the house. Thinking of where was my mistake, along with two ciggy. I then realized that I can't do much about it now. Perhaps at times letting of the past is the way to let the new good things come in.


IMG20180305140335.jpg

At least now. I gain 1 kg extra , a new operating system on my laptop and it is smooth running.

Time to get more work done and perhaps a new IMAC OR MacBook Pro. Emmm?

Anyway, here what I think about Ubuntu, I've downloaded version 17.10 , it's pretty impressive. They have really improved a lot. The only issue I have now is setting up the extended external monitor. I hope I can't get sorted out by tonight.

If you thinking of trying out Ubuntu, here is a recommended video, that helps.

And hey, don't make the same dumb mistake I did, if you are getting and installing a new OS, DONT EAT THAT SHIT.

Sort:  

I feel you bro. Once one of my HDD on a raid5 array failed, so I swapped in a spare HDD(which had old stuff) and proceed to format it so it can be synced into the raid5 array. Long story short, I formatted the master HDD on the raid by mistake and the rest is history..
No point crying over spilled ice-cream, at least you have a spanking new OS (that is how i console myself but i am still crying over my lost data huhu..)

Yeah. Sad over lost of data, same here.. Still feel it though. Hehe

holy shit....you should save all important documents in your external HDD. and get it excrypted.

olala. theoretically I think you still can recover your formatted hdd if you havent rewrite the partition table..

use cloud storage bro

Yes bro. Huge lesson learned indeed

Ooooouuchhh.... Its like missing a part of your life. Hope you recover it. This time go running to release the stress.

If it was me I will be so so so sad and lost even banana split will not help me. Hope you are also to pick things up soon. Take care @danieldoughty.

Oh my .. i call this shit happen bro !!! This is best reason to drink a pint or two bro !!!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44