Growing Old With Ya

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

New Year is just round the corner. Christmas hasn't left yet, in my family.. It's still feels like Christmas still end of January. Why? Nobody knows, it's just how it is.

I'm am not bothered so much about new year, other than putting up the fireworks show for my family.

Two things that I am looking forward to celebrate is firstly My dad 70th birthday on 3rd January Next Year. I know it would mean the world to him and to us all.

And secondly, is to celebrate the 10 year wedding anniversary on the 2nd February 2018. My wife and I will be leaving for Taiwan on the 1st February 2018 to celebrate our anniversary there.

So this post is not about Christmas, new year nor my dad coming 70th birthday. This post is about love.

9891abf26d5e60f460a2309a379190c6---month-anniversary-anniversary-cards.jpg

I met my wife for just a month or so then I proposed to her. Couple months later , I visited her home and told her dad that I wanted to marry her daughter, her dad told me to get engaged first but I gave a brilliant pitch and he agree to my proposal. Within a few month we got hitched without going through the local custom engagement period and arrangement.

Friend asked me , why the rush. I told them, when I met her, I instantly knew that she is the one, I was able to clearly see that we could grow old together. I was so sure, so why should I let doubts enter something that I am sure about.

We spend the rest of our 8 years just the two of us againts the world. I told her right after we got married that we must collect as much fuel (happy moments) as possible so to help sustain us during trial times as a married couple. Since then we travel to many places neither of us ever been to collect and kept all those fuel in our heart.

Life isn't a bed of roses, there were lots of challenging times that we had to go through as couple too, but together, we always manage to persevere. We learn of each other strength and weaknesses and until today, the learning never stop as we try to support and encourage each other to better ourselves as a person. Those fuel that we kept in our heart were the reason for everything as it kept us going.

On a personal note, I believe I am blessed to have her as she completes me.

On 25 April 2016, we are blessed with little Matthew. His presence in our life completes us as family.

We both quickly embrace and learn the role and meaning of parenthood. While I was trying hard to be the best dad, she naturally is the best mother in the world.

During our wedding day, i told her that today is all about you. We are celebrating you.

This coming 10th year Anniversary, it's all about her, we will be celebrating her achievement for being the best wife a lucky man like me can ever have, and a loving and caring mum for little Matthew.

I honestly think it's important to ensure that every now and then, just you and me moment takes place. To look back on all those great and teary memorable moment that bond and strengthen each other.

I hope this post helps inspire those newly married couple out there. Some say, getting to the first 10 ten years of marriage is the toughest. Lots of marriages fail below the 10 years mark. For us, we are blessed that it kept us strong.

On another note, Taiwan is a new place we both never been, this is an exciting new adventure for us both to collect additional fuel for our journey as husband and wife. We hope to do lots of food tasting too hehe.

If there is a lovely place that you personally would recommend we should go visit in Taiwan, do let me know.

God Bless.

0a6e0bb76e5b49ccceb314580408cd5b.jpg

*all Google Images

Sort:  

Happy birthday to your dad in advanced and happy anniversary to you and your wife. Love your description on collecting fuel. Taiwan is nice! Very child friendly too if you are planning on bringing little Matthew.

Thank you @ladylei . Thanks for the info. Cheers

If for Taipei you can go

Taipei 101
Jiufen old street
Shifen waterfall
Shilin night market
Ximen street

Taichung
Fengjia night market(its a must if u heading taichung)
Sun moon lake

Will update you few places again soon

Thanks for the post, upvoted and restremed!!

Happy birthday to your dad, and happy anniversary! I'm new to Steemit, but I'm from Taiwan. Excited you will be spending it here. There's so much to see and eat!

Thank you, I hope Taiwan will be kind to us hehe. Looking forward to the trip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77