Planning the Ultimate 2-Day Kuala Lumpur Tour

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

Dear @teammalaysia community,

I have a couple of friends from the United States visiting me in Kuala Lumpur on Nov 19 - 21. Usually, this isn't a big deal as I've entertained a lot of guests casually before. But this time it's different. This time it's personal! These 2 friends of mine actually have the gall, the audacity to think that Singaporean food is better than Malaysian food! To be fair, most Americans don't even know that Malaysia exists until I reminded them about the small piece of land between Thailand and Singapore.

Which part of China (when they ask me) / India (when they ask a fellow Indian Malaysian) is Malaysia in? - A surprising amount of Americans

malaysia-1.jpg

With only barely 2 days to change their minds, I feel like its my responsibility - nay! - my patriotic duty to not only change their mindset about Malaysia but I want them to go home and preach about us.

But I need the community's help! I myself have only moved to Kuala Lumpur 2 years ago from a small kampung in Melaka and still a bit suaku about where to find all the good eats. To do this, I will present my current planned itinerary below. I would really appreciate if any experienced foodie/compatriot could provide feedback or suggestions.

Note: Their parents are chefs and owners of popular Chinese and Japanese restaurant in Chicago, so it'll be pretty difficult to impress them with Chinese food.

Day 1 (Nov 19)

2017-10-20 11_50_30-.png

12:00pm - Pickup from airport

Lunch at Aunty Aini's Garden Cafe, Negeri Sembilan (https://www.facebook.com/AuntyAinisCafe/)

I've never been there myself but have always wanted to try the food there since Aunty Aini has played host to Anthony Bourdain and have famously scolded Gordon Ramsay on his own show. The restaurants serves traditional Malay cuisine.
(

)

Tour of Putrajaya

I'm going to be honest. Never in my life would I think about visiting Putrajaya because I thought it would just be another plain city. But my mind was blown when I went there for kayaking. The architecture of the buildings are amazing and the two mosques - Putra Mosque and Masjid Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin - are just a sight to behold.

Dinner at Sri Nirwana Maju Banana Leaf Rice, Bangsar

So far, this place has always been popular with locals and foreigners. I don't think I've had better banana leaf rice elsewhere.

Drinks at Changkat, Jalan Alor

Standard tourist place to go. I'm a bit iffy about this place. Very touristy and not very uniquely Malaysian. Welcomed to any suggestions?


Day 2 (Nov 20)

Breakfast at Seng Huat Bak Kut Teh (a.k.a Under the Bridge Bak Kut Teh), Klang

Classic go-to for Bak Kut Teh. I thought it would be easier on foreigners taste buds since the soup isn't super herbal

2nd Breakfast at Yap Beng Restaurant, Klang

I wanted to find a good place for dry Bak Kut Teh and this was the top result that came out on Google. Has anyone been there? Can the ranking be validated?

Walk off the food at Batu Caves

Temples, Natural Caves, Monkeys, I can't imagine any foreigner not enjoying this place.

Batu Cave, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.jpg

Lunch at ????

Honestly, I've thought and I thought and I thought but I just couldn't think of a good place for any worthy Malaysian food? Any suggestions? I was thinking maybe Lot 10 Hutong Food Court has a pretty good selection, but the quality has definitely slipped from what I remember years ago.

Jalan-jalan around KLCC

Unavoidable

Sunset and City View at Heli Lounge Bar, KL

Good way to take in the view and beauty of KL. Always a fun experience to stand on top of a helipad also, especially if you're like me and terrified of heights.

Dinner at Taman Paramount / Sea Park / SS2, Petaling Jaya

Going to tackle a bunch of light meals here starting with nasi lemak packets at Jalan 223 Medan Selera, followed by Ah Wah / Peng Yuan Hokkien Mee at Sea Park, then maybe get some durian - I know its off-season but still fun to let others try - and Murni Mi Raja at SS2.

Drinks at TREC

For some reason, I'm very proud that Malaysia has a place like TREC. It's new, modern, fun and there's a lot of variety.

Supper at Valentine Roti, Jalan Semarak

Arguably, the best Roti Canai in town? I've only been there a couple of times. It's definitely above average, but saying its the best in town may be a stretch. Where else can we go to experience a bit of Malaysia's famous mamak culture?


Day 3 (Nov 21)

Quick breakfast around the neighborhood, then send off to airport.


What do you guys think? How would you rate my list? Decent, Good, or Horrible and I should be ashamed to call myself Malaysian?

I'm not really a big fan of travelling around cities so maybe I've missed out some places. Please do let me know!

Sort:  

omg. saying SG food is better than MSIA food is blasphemous.

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Good question. I also want to know what is there to do in KL other than shopping and food.

If you are around Batu Caves ... check out the best Sang Har Mee or Sang Har Hor Fun at Restoran Pan Heong - 2, Jalan Medan Batu Caves 4, Medan Batu Caves, 68100 Batu Caves, Selangor, Malaysia.

Thanks will check it out!

I support !!! It's powerrrr food man ! The best dishes.. make sure u try the wa tan hor

If heading for Airport route pass by Puchong, you may want to check out Restoran Soon Hing Duck-licious & Dim Sum 順興燒臘飯店 ... you have variety for noodle, tim sum or just simply toast bread.

One of them, his dad trained under a master HK chef and has a successful dimsum restaurant in Chicago. I don't think our Malaysian dimsum can compare haha

Banana Leaf in Nirwana ok je lah. My husband says Sun Raj in Taman Petaling is SUPERB better than Kavitha's which I absolutely love.
https://www.tripadvisor.com.my/ShowUserReviews-g298313-d12613989-r504186707-Sun_Raj_Curry_House-Petaling_Jaya_Petaling_District_Selangor.html

Changkat Bukit Bintang is a drinking hole. Plenty to choose from. Don't drive there though, no place to park. Can try Pampas at Old Malaya for evening drinks with night view of KL Tower.
http://eatdrinkkl.blogspot.my/2016/05/old-malaya-raja-chulan.html

Jalan Alor. Go to Wong Ah Wah eat siu kai yik ie BBQ chicken wings. The walk down the road should be fun.

Thanks for these suggestions! I'll definitely go and try Sun Raj and Pampas before they come to test it out. Despite Nirwana Banana Leaf Rice maybe not being the best BLR, I think what draws me back is the fried bitter gourd. Let's see if Sun Raj will be able to change my opinion.

Yea, I think walking down Jalan Alor will be fun whether we decide to eat dinner there or not but the prices there can be quite a ripoff no?

Unless you whack the siu kai yik like a lot then maybe will feel a bit of a pinch lar. Wong Ah Wah is actually a restaurant serving rice and dishes but Chinese cuisine. So just eat the chicken wings and drink beer :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59514.13
ETH 2652.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42