What subject is more taboo than sex?

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0047 copy.jpg

What subject is more taboo than sex? Personally, I think it’s mental health.

I have always have a soft spot for health-related causes and years back when I was having the quarter-life crisis (sort of) on what I should pursue in life, I stumbled upon public health issues where I got to understand a little bit more about mental health. Due to stigma, discrimination and neglect in preventive care, it has become one of the unspoken disability people have in the world now. It is also one of the less researched fields since most fundings go to the communicable diseases such as malaria, HIV/AIDS etc. I have always thought that everyone should be given equal opportunities but how can one seizes all these opportunities if one is in bad shape, and over here, I am referring to mental health. Often, we are not aware of it because the symptoms may be minuscule and hence, we often brushed it off as our own negativities.

I can’t say that I understand fully but I do know how it felt to get swamped and overwhelmed with emotions, sobbing, not being able to pick yourself up to leave your room. And through some brave friends who decided to talk about mental health, I learnt how it affected them to the point suicide is all they can think of.

According to World Health Organization (WHO), one in four people in the world will be affected by mental or neurological disorders at some point in their lives. Around 450 million people currently (the number is increasing) suffer from such conditions, placing mental disorders among the leading causes of ill-health and disability worldwide. Treatments are available, but nearly two-thirds of people with a known mental disorder never seek help from a health professional.

Watch this

Everyone has this black dog in their life at some point in their life. I think my closest experience to mental health was this mild anxiety I experienced when I was recovering from a rather traumatising breakup. Besides losing appetite, I would wake up sweating in the middle of the night with my heart palpitating, being fidgety and often not in a calm state of mind. Thankfully and gratefully, I have great supportive friends and my guruji. And, that brings me to my next point - Yoga.

I think Yoga has helped me in my recovery. Yoga is a mindfulness practice that has allowed me to connect with my mind, heart and body, increasing sensitivity towards myself. It was hard to meditate and even practice yoga for 30 minutes in the beginning but as I kept going, my mind became calmer, entering into a more relaxed state, straying away from anxiety. I started noticing the little things around me, becoming more aware of the surrounding and my feelings. With such awareness, I was able to understand the roots of my feelings and make a conscious decision to dwell or to let go. Having experienced this, I believed that yoga is able to play its role to help people to tame their black dogs and alleviate them from these mental disabilities. That explains my aspiration to be a yoga instructor.

Another one such case study of how yoga is able to help alleviate people from their mental issues, you may check out this heartwarming project known as Prison Yoga Project, where yoga was taught in the prison to these prisoners who suffered chronic interpersonal trauma experienced early in life which then led them to commit these unimaginable crimes.

So, how are you today? Are you okay?

It’s okay to say no if you are not feeling okay. It doesn’t mean that you are weak. Instead, it is a really brave move, to acknowledge your feelings. Talk about it (or you can talk to me too :)) and be even braver to do something about it.

Sort:  

Nice title ;)

I'm not okay today.

Now what?

You know I'm always here to listen haha <3

Dont think anyone with mental health issues would wanna share it openly in a public reply.

Everyone have their breaking point that is when our emotional health is tested.

mm that depends on the intention of sharing. I have seen inspiring advocates who shared their journey publicly to help ppl. however, if it is more comfortable for one to talk to someone personally, do so instead of letting it bottling inside.

People who openly advocates it are people who had triumph over it. They have a success story to tell. To a sufferer they often suffer in silence n try to find their way around it seldom publicly. Robin williams didnt openly talk about his problem despite being a good orator until it consumed him. He is an example of the general case....but awareness like what u raised is vert good. Kudos🙇‍♂️

I am still learning about it, touching just the surface of the topic but yea, I hope whoever who is suffering from these know that they are not alone and it is a brave act to seek help. Thanks for the constructive comments, appreciate it. :)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @chloecartoon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @chloecartoon! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chloecartoon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46