Joy and Happiness?

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Err...... so what is the difference between happiness and joy? Well, I thought all this while they are the same and just named differently. I am a happy person and a joyful person, and so I thought.

Until I was told that happiness is depended on external factors but joy is in our being or inside us. Happiness is a temporary feeling or emotion but joy is stays inside us - permanent and fulfilling.

For example: I am filled happiness when my ideal man appears. He makes me laugh, dotes on me and treats me like a princess. I am in cloud 9. Then one day, he leaves and I am devastated and the happiness is gone.

Joy on the other hand in my own opinion and experience is when I practice a random act of kindness. One of the joyful experience I had was when I treated a stranger breakfast. He was sitting opposite my table with a cup of coffee and newspaper, decently dressed when he suddenly walked over and asked, “Miss, would you treat me a simple breakfast? I have not had anything to eat since last night. As you can see I only have a cup of coffee. I do not need a lot just a small breakfast will do and I will be forever grateful.”

I was not comfortable at first but I gave it some thought and agreed then walked over to the counter and asked him what he wanted. He did order a very small breakfast. Then I decided to order a slightly better breakfast which he said no to but I insisted and he accepted it with a grateful smile.

It did occur to me if he was taking advantage of me. However, after taking his food to his table, I went back to mine and after a few minutes, I decided to leave to my next destination.

I sat in the car, thinking, “Does it matter if he was lying? It was only a few ringgit and for me that was a random act of kindness I wanted do which I prayed for that day.”

Despite those doubting questions, I felt that joy within me and I knew it was the best feeling ever and till today, I still feel that joy.

This is just one of the many joys in my life and nothing can take away this joy; not even in times of difficulty nor times of trouble.

We are beings who are meant to give; in all sorts of ways, big or small. Each one is significant. The joy fills up our ocean inside us.

In my life, many friends and strangers have given to me and for that I am grateful and felt the joy of receiving as well.

Another giving of joyful moment was when I donated blood. I wanted to give of myself which meant helping to save a life was my blood. I hate needles and I fear being pricked but I just love donating blood. It was always joyful after that. Know what I mean?

Joy brings peace in me during my bad times. It gives me that sense of safety, comfort and hope knowing that my storm of life will pass and joy will always shelter me from the rain of negativity.

This is my experience and Joy is definitely the best whilst happiness is something we can share too! Happiness can shape humanity and hope which then move to give Joy; to others and to ourselves.

Sort:  

"We are beings who are meant to give; in all sorts of ways, big or small. Each one is significant. The joy fills up our ocean inside us."

I share your view about giving. I have been blessed to receive blessings from others in the past and I would love to pay it forward by blessing others in return :)

Hey @catherinelim, this is Chris :) I love your positive energy whenever I met you! I always believe there is a choice that we can make, to walk the journey of life joyfully and filled with laughter. And you are the best role model on that :)

Hi @smile4ever, I am really humbled and grateful for your encouragement. I learnt so much to understand the difference. Your smile has the calming and joyful energy. Keep smiling .

A nice article & now only I know the different between Joy and Happiness.... tq for that :) Eventhoght Joy & happines have adifferent defination.... in my opinion the energy vibes & wave length is still the same. Both in the positive mood and can be transfer to anybody or anything surrounding you.. both are positive energy and can help you your own self to ease any pain :)

Dear @alimatunrosli, I am blessed to know you and share similar and funny stories. you are very inspiring and strong person. Keep writing and share your experience and energy .

Tq Dear, nice meeting you too.

That's the power of sharing...

we got networking and when we share our similar or exchange our story the burden comes out and make us realize "we are not the only one in the world tested by Allah"

Cheers :)

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59084.94
ETH 3240.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32