Buzz Goes to Kedah...

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)


It's 10.30 PM.


Bright lights at KL Sentral.

I am at KL Sentral Train Station right now about to board the intercity carriage up north the peninsular to the humble state of Kedah; where at about 4.40 AM a taxi will be picking me up to rest at the hotel for a couple of hours before taking me to the university where I will be presenting an introduction to blockchain and the potential it can do for the energy sector and the environment.

It will be my first time visiting Kedah.


Beautiful state of Kedah

When I think of Kedah, I imagine rice paddy fields that stretch for miles from its capital, Alor Setar, which I also imagine is a slow moving quiet town.

But from my research of the town, I look forward to have a renewed image of this town as I see it with my own eyes.


The State of Renewable Energy


Kedah is home to one of the largest solar panel manufacturers in Malaysia; First Solar.

First Solar has been around since 2008 and has done much for the state; namely we have to them thank for:

  • building a 160-acre assembly plant which has the capacity to manufacture 12 million panels a year.
  • provides over 4,000 high-tech jobs to the local state population here.
  • building a 2,000 solar panel rooftop carpark which can essentially power 300 city homes.
  • a recycling facility that collects discarded glass and electronic materials to create even more solar panels.
  • donated a 144 solar panel energy system to energize a local religious landmark called the Al Fateh Mosque (seen above).



Given luck, I might be able to visit them all.

It will be a fresh experience.

I'm looking forward to it.



Buzz


Hi, my name is Jason aka @buzz.lightyear. I envision a future where renewable energy is our main source of electricity in this lifetime; reducing the largest contributor of carbon emissions by 90% and bringing our global temperatures back to its natural balance.

I believe that this is no easy task but it is achievable with your support.

I am developing an open blockchain that incentivises both producers and consumers of renewable energy and am looking to collaborate with brilliant minds who share this vision so that we can create a future where it just makes sense to go 100% renewable, visit your local store, buy some latest tech and generate energy for your own use and for others.

Photo Credits
Kedah: rizalis (malaysian macro team) on VisualHunt / CC BY-NC-ND

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

good luck speaking at UUM Sintok

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65670.18
ETH 2575.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65