The Sino Kadazan Chinese New Year Eve

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Sino Kadazan is a unique race created by mixed marriage between a Chinese and a Kadazanese. My late grandpa is Chinese, married my late grandma a Kadazanese, and they were greatly blessed with 7 sons and 7 daughters, a very big family indeed.

image

I still remember when I was a child, my grandpa always reminds us not to forget our Chinese culture especially the Chinese New Year. Since then every Chinese New Year Eve even after my grandpa has passed away, relatives from near and far will gather, reunited for a special family dinner at the old house.

image

Its been our tradition to give Ang Pows on Chinese New Year Eve, as we believe it will bring us good luck for the rest of the year. I started giving Ang Pows after I got married and never stopped eventhough there are times that I'm feeling the financial constraint. To see the kids faces lights up when I give the Ang Pows, is sure something to relish at.

image

After dinner and Ang Pow give away, we have the habit of doing a bit of gambling games too, especially a Card Game called "Lap Lap Fu", that's the only time of the year that we will gather to play it. Gambling with real money is fun, but sometimes its hard to chew when you keep on losing.

We expect tomorrow is going to be a hectic day. We usually have an open house on the first day of Chinese New Year. A tradition that my grandpa insist that we retain eventhough he is no longer with us. Its been that way for as long as I can remember. Our other close relatives and friends will always be coming, as a sign of respect to my grandpa and our family. A time to close-knit our families relationships and mend any forgone dispute.

I am very proud of our tradition, and I hope the next generations will keep it intact. Hopefully it will go on until the test of time.

GONG XI FA CAI

Sort:  

Glad that you have a big family that still follows tradition... looks like you guys are genuinely having fun

Yes, its very fun indeed. Thank you for commenting @orangila

Reminds me of “Lap Lap Fu”. Hahahahaha. Happy cny bro!!

Happy CNY to you too @nickychu 😆

We are going to my uncle's open house tonite. We are also going to have a "lap lap fu" game.

Thanks for sharing.

Happy CNY @papanog, maybe you can suggest using SBD to play Lap Lap Fu. 😂

Gong Xi Fa Chai!!! 🎋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12