Steemit Newbie Must Read - Upvoting

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

image

WHAT IS UPVOTE or UPVOTING MEANS?
In Facebook terms it is the same as "Liking" someones post. But in Steemit, you'll get a reward which is called STEEM POWER or SP.

Below graphic shows the Icon for Upvote (indicated in red circle) that will appear at the bottom of a post.
image

When the Icon has been pressed, it will turn into GREEN.
image

As a beginner myself, when I just started, these are the most common questions that I usually ask my peers to really understand the concepts.

1.Who should I Upvote?
2.When should I Upvote?
3.What do I get when I Upvoted someone?

Here are a few simple rules that you should know based on my minimal knowledge and experience

  1. READ and try to understand the contents of the post first. Make sure you read the whole contents. If you like what you have read, then only upvote it. As a newbie or a beginner, you are recommended to vote at least 10 times within 24 Hours. So make your voting counts.

  2. CAN I UPVOTE MY OWN POST? The answer is YES YOU CAN!! Think of it as a reward for your selves after spending hours and hours toiling to produce your post. You can straightaway Upvote your post once you posted it.

  3. IF YOU WANTED TO VOTE A POST, REMEMBER THIS
    A) Wait at least after 30 minutes after it has been posted, then only you Upvote. If you Upvoted a post within 15 minutes after its been uploaded, you will be giving the author 99.94% and you'll only get 00.06% of the SP.

B) Based on my analysis, the best time to Upvote is after the post is about 30 minutes old. Voting at this hour gives 50% to the author and 50% SP for you.

C) Don't Upvote a post that is more than 7 days as your vote will be worthless. This happens because after 7 days, the author will redeem their rewards. Any Upvote for the post after that equals to Zero rewards.

WHAT ACTUALLY IS STEEM POWER?

"STEEM Power (abbreviated SP) is a measurement of how much influence a user has in the Steem network. The more STEEM Power a user holds, the more they can influence the value of posts and comments."

Imagine SP as money, if you have more money, you can give more rewards to the author and yourself when voting.

So, that's it for my post today, hopefully it while shed some lights to you guys doubts and questions.

FOLLOW, SUPPORT, VOTE & RESTEEM

Sort:  

Thank you very much for the info. Coz i totally don't know about this. Just joined for few days so i will upvote the posts even few mths back. So much apprecited. But i also feel sorry coz my votes got no value...

Few months back? Can but no value lh.

I know how you feel, I did the same mistakes until someone told me that I shoudn't vote old post. Slowly you will catch up with the rest of the tips and tricks to succeed in Steemit. Just need to check other usefull post and ask around if you need more info.

Congratulations @beverlyjoe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice info, now you already become ikan basung..😂😂

Basung? Still Ikan Bilis kering bah. Reach 40 reputation then only I can become Ikan Basung 😂😂😂😂

Upssss...hahaha

Good morning.
Thank you. You make it very clear. Good content.
I recommend all newbies to read your post.

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @papanog, I really hope this post can help newbies like me.

Steemit tool such as www.steemnow.com or steemd.com to name a few should be sufficient to guide newbie on how to understand their voting power.

Thank you for sharing this @beverlyjoe. You make me gain more knowledge out of your post towards SP. Next time if you post about blocktrade, pls feel free to tag me. I would love to read your short & precise content. 😊

Thank you @kulasago, I will 😄👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66