PSEUDOSCIENCE - DOWSING

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

image

Have you guys heard about DOWSING before? I was first introduced to this method by a friend of mine back in 2016. He is a contractor and most of his works involves underground pipe installation using the Horizontal Directional Drilling (HDD) method. (I might write a post later in the future about this) 😊.

So, my company have a project of constructing and installing Telephone manholes, but we have a hard time to locate the already buried Telephone ducts done by another contractor months ago. The Peg that is used to mark its location is nowhere to be found, so, I called up this friend of mine to ask for his help.

After walking and analysing the locations for a while, my friend went to his Jeep and came back with two 'L' shaped rod in his hands. I asked him "what do you have there?", "just you wait and see" he responded. With each of the rod in his hand, he stood up straight and walked slowly step by step until he reached a spot and said "found it!". I was surprised, "you can trace those pipes by using that?" I asked. "Yes" he said, but not the exact location. "I'm not sure how deep the pipe is, and we need to dig within 2 meter perimeter from where I'm standing now" he said. So, we started digging using the backhoe and shovels, and to our relief, we found the pipe, nearly 2 meters deep from the surface. I was extremely fascinated, right away I asked him to teach me and since then, I started to do some research about it. From my research, I found out that this technique is called "DOWSING".

The most common Dowsing rod is "Y" shaped and made of branches. Over the years, the "L" shaped rod was introduced and became the most popular type ever since.

Dowsing is a Pseudoscience, but no one really sure of its origin. It was thought to originate from Germany, firstly used to locate ore metal. Dowsing is also used to locate ground water, oil, gems, gravesites and many more including "wandering spirits", without using any scientific apparatus.

To know more about Dowsing, you may click HERE

To get a more clearer picture about the meaning of Pseudoscience, click HERE

I also recommend that you watch videos in Youtube on Dowsing.

Until today I still can't master Dowsing. When I first started, I shaped two pieces of wires into "L", just like the picture below. I hold it in my hand, not so tight, a bit loose so that it can move a bit freely.

image

I started by walking around outside of my house, but not sure whether I got the result correctly. I'm not even sure what I have located, it could be water, underground cables or pipes, treasures, maybe even "Ghosts".

image

image

Above illustrations courtesy of Wikihow & Pinterest

To know that the rod has located something, it will cross each other as illustrated below. You can feel that the rod is moving when it is attracted to something.

image

I'm still trying to learn Dowsing, but I needed more practice before I can truly believe that it is working. I was told that the best way to practice it is by testing it in many different locations and in different type of weather.

If you guys are interested, try to do some research and watch the videos in Youtube. Who knows, when in dire need, this might prove to be usefull.

Sort:  

I'm interested in developing dowsing skills too. I've had some rather unorthodox tasks that I've used dowsing rods for, mainly to find lost objects. The first times I've had success with dowsing was when I was looking for lost items inside my house. I got successful directions when asked which rooms the objects might be located in, and then when I entered these rooms (on different occasions) I was directed to which quadrant of the room to search futher in.

The other times I've tried dowsing was in search of gravestones of relatives in large cemeteries. This was a little closer to the type of experience you describe when searching for something outdoors. A little more time consuming than when I searched inside my home, and also it took more focus and concentration because there are so many variants to be aware of when searching thru such a large landscape.

Good article, thanks for sharing!

My goodness, this post of mine seems like ages ago. Thank you for your time reading it. And thank you fir sharing your experience too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69