Traveling to another town to teach technicians how to fly a drone.

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

image

Hey Steemians!

Work can be both scary and fun at the same time. Which was I was feeling when I've been scheduled by my company to travel to another town that I've never been for a training course on flying.

From the place where I'm based (the Bornean township of Miri) to the other town south west of it. One called Sibu. Which will take about 400+/- km depending on which road is used.

image

I traveled the distance by car, which might sound like a fun road trip. Well, it kinda is. In that I've never traveled that road before. With a trunk of a rented MPV loaded to the max, off we go.

image

Prior to the almost 6 hour trip I had a simple breakfast

Unfortunately I did not take any pictures of the scenery. There is this one picture that my colleague had taken that took this trip from "really" fun to "kind" fun.

image

Yea, that was scary. To be honest the road isn't smooth at all all the way. In fact the road isn't even in good shape. Bad condition on a stretch, maintenance on a another... The road is bumpy to say the least.

When I've finally reached the town of Sibu.. I took a quick stroll around the town Centre, Near the hotel I lived.


image

The swan is the emblem of this town. Founded in 1862 as a fortress town by James Brooke and later settled by Wong Nai Song. The population is mostly the locals and a large majority of Ethnic Fuzhou Chinese.

I had the chance to swing by the night Market. It operates on along a street closed every night for it.

image

look at that!!

So far, it's the first night I'm here.

I should still be here in this town for another 4 days.


I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome!

Sort:  

awesome bro. can you elaborate more on why the technicians need to use drone in their work?

Teese technicians take care of the power line network spanning all over Sarawak. Via routine inspection and maintenance work.

Traditionally they have to climb the towers, use binoculars, do guesswork to assess whether the power lines are in good condition. Which is both a safety risk (climbing high towers day in day out) and efficiency issue.

By using drones, they simply need to be on site, Power up the drone, take footage of the power lines and viola. HD footage of power lines up close.

Nice Post and I really like to read your article

Thanks! It's not really an article though. Just a quick log of my work life.

Sounds like a cool job!

Well, it's a job. And so far I've been enjoying it. One can find passion in whatever we do so long as we put our hearts and the right mindset in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48