Youtubers You Should Follow to learn stuff

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

video essay.png

I've been inspired by @vaelriey's post on who she is following on Instagram and why she likes them. So I guess I should do something similar and show you guys a little bit of myself. They say one can learn alot from one's Youtube subcribed list. I'm going to show you 10 Youtubers whom I follow and extremely liked (I watch ALL of their videos, which isn't all that much actually, considering their quality and time spent per video).

People often say that Youtube is one of the best ways a person can waste their life hours on end. And (before the whole YT algorithm thing), a great place to plunge yourself into the "Youtube Blackhole" to see many videos it takes to get you to the weird part of Youtube. But, used and curated properly, Youtube is a treasure trove of good content with highly useful information that among other things, change your way of thinking, learn new information, challenge your philosophy, and generally upgrade your mind.

I've followed over 350+ content creators on Youtube all from wide ranging niches and style of content. But here are 10 that I recommend you to follow if you are interested in watching beautifully made videos that teach you stuff.. In no particular order of course.

1. Nerdwriter1

nerdwriter.jpg
What it's about: Films, music and popular culture

Nerdwriter is probably the first Youtuber that got me aware of the Video Essay genre. He talks mostly about pop culture and sheds light on the artistic. I was never really the artistic kind myself but it's safe to say that he got me on a path of knowing how to appreciate good art. Whether in music, paintings, films. Obviously I still have a long way to go if I want to call myself a pretentious "art connoisseur".

He posts regularly and like many people on the list, gets me watching his videos as soon as he uploads it. Here's one the best works he's done so far, a highly recommended watch.

Harry Potter & The Prisoner of Azkaban: Why It's The Best


gradient banner.png

2. What I've Learned

WIL.jpg
What it's about: Health and living in Japan

Dare I say he's the best video essayist when it comes to health. All his videos are properly researched and challenges the "popular" health advice by doctors trying to sell us stuff. I've been watching his videos ever since he started making them and alot of things I learnt about health started from watching his essays and then doing my own research afterwards.

He boils down health science down to it's essence so that even regular folks like you and me understands. While not his most popular video, you definitely have to watch this to understand why your diet needs to change and how sugar is probably the most dangerous thing you put into your body.

WHY Sugar is as Bad as Alcohol (Fructose, The Liver Toxin)


gradient banner.png

3. Coffee Break

index.jpg
What it's about: Social commentary but mostly interesting ideas

This guy is more of a dark horse I should say. I absolutely love his style and his use of lo-fi music as the soundtrack of all his videos. Definitely an up and coming video essayist and might rival even the biggest names in the space. His premise is simple, thoughts to inspire you in the time it takes for you to finish that coffee.

How to ALWAYS win an argument


gradient banner.png

4. Kurzgesagt

Kurzgesagt.jpg
What It's about: Science, In a Nutshell

Combine Optimistic Nihilism, Adobe Illustrator and After Effects, cute birds, and science made simple. That's Kurzgesagt, a German way of saying "In a Nutshell". They've set the bar seriously high for content creators who makes engaging and beautiful videos about science that gets viewers thinking.

I especially like their video on the concept of Egoistic Altruism, and how it is the best way to live in a Positive Sum world.

A Selfish Argument for Making the World a Better Place – Egoistic Altruism


gradient banner.png

5. Coldfusion

coldfusion.jpg
What it's about: History of large companies and new technologies

I talked about Coldfusion in a post before where he talked about Dtube. But his videos talked about may more stuff, mostly about new technologies. I have been following his videos for a long time now. And none of his videos has disappointed me. From self-flying planes to digital smart contracts, Dagogo Altrade, the man behind Coldfusion really is an aggregator of futurism.

I can't tell you which videos of his is specifically the best, But you should watch the one where he talked about Dtube.

How Blockchain is Already Taking Over (YouTube Competitors, Finance and More)


gradient banner.png

6. Polymatter

polymatter.jpg
What it's about: Tech Businesses among other explanatory things

Polymatter, as the name suggest, is a video essayist that makes videos to explain many different topic. I love the seemingly simple (i said "seemingly", coz it's not that easy to make) animations that accompanies the explanation of the subject. And do you know it's all made by 1 person? from researching, to editing, to animation.. Simple impressive.

Want to learn about tax evasion and why Apple, in doing that, has shot themselves in the foot? The time and research it took to make this video as well as of the other videos is what impressed me the most.

Apple's Money Problem (& Why It Won't Buy Netflix)


gradient banner.png

There's actually more

As I've mentioned, I follow over 350+ Youtubers online and I'm constantly curating who I follow and why I followed them. This list is in no way exhaustive and I actually think i might introduce more Youtubers that means alot to me. If anything, I really hope they would start get on the Steem video Dapps platforms so my upvotes would actually help them rather than doing no damn thing.

These people certainly has and is and will continue to inspire me. It's so easy to create video contents and get seen nowadays. I don't see why I should not pursue this path as i learn more about being a content creator.

Who are your Favourite Youtuber? lemme know!

image.png


Sign Up to Earn.com to make money reading Emails!

My New Website!!!

The cheapest hosting plan to build your Personal Website!!


Kristian Kho [Ian] is a 24 year old freelancer with a passion for steem and a deep desire to be a better person in every aspect. I aim to express any and all my thoughts on things that I find interesting as well as using this platform as a self-development log.

I am a part of #Teammalaysia, a decentralized community initiative that aims to empower local creatives and content creators specifically in Malaysia to create content through the Steem Blockchain.

If you want to stalk me, check out my other social media accounts too!

Sort:  

Interesting people!

Thank you! These people inspire me all the time.

I can see why... haha

Good channels man! thanks for letting me know new and good contents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77