Bahasa Malaysia & Indonesia- > Same-same but different (1)

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)


If you have travelled to Vietnam before, you will notice there is everywhere souvenir t-shirt with slogan "Same-same" in front, and "But different" at the back.

And I think this phrase applied to the Bahasa also , there are many differences between the Bahasa Malaysia & Bahasa Indonesia. Even I have been taught Bahasa since primary school, when I travelled to Indonesia, I always :"apa(what)?" and asked what they trying to say.

Here I give some examples hope can help/share with you:

1) (MY) Lancong vs (IN) Wisata --> English: travel or visit

For this part, I like the Indonesian version wisata, I still remember at the airport custom counter, the officer asked what was my purpose of visit , I proudly said "berwisata" (sounds local ya 😊 ).

And I like the fact from wisata , can expand become wisatawan (means traveller/tourist) , sounds like Juta-Wan, Sastera-Wan right, macam sound very [atas 😎] --eventhough we are just tourist 😝 😝

divider-1024.png

2) (MY) Lapangan Terbang vs (IN) Bandara --> English: Airport

Let's have a guess why Bandara ?

It's short form of Bandar Udara -- I think this is creative ! ever since I found out this clue, I remember all the way d. & surprisingly I found in Singapore Changi Airport, their malay version brochure putting "Bandara Changi" , I thought Singapore Malay always follow Malaysian version.

divider-1024.png

3) (MY) Petrol vs (IN) BBM --> English: Car Petrol

Let's have second try why BBM?

And as you know, the way we pronounce ABC are different between Malaysia & Indonesia, Indonesia was colonised by the Dutch , so their ABCD follow Dutch "Ah-Bear-Say-There". So BBM will become "Bear-Bear-Aim" .

The time when I visit Jakarta & Bandung, the hottest topic on all TV channels was the reduction of petrol subsidy , so their retail petrol price was like having a big spike over a short period of time . If I don't recall wrongly , it was a 30% adjustment overnight, so the news in TV/radio were all talking about petrol impacts. So I kept hearing "Bear-bear-aim" , "Bear-bear-Aim" on the air....

It's called Bahan Bakar Minyak (BBM) in Indonesia, thus short form become BBM

divider-1024.png

Hope you find this interesting, and I will keep updating in following posts about differences in Bahasa Malaysia Vs Bahasa Indonesia.
#teammalaysia #bahasa #samesamebutdifferrent #samasamatapibeza #wisatawan #bandara #BBM

Sort:  

ohh .. one more ... Tuala = Handuk .
Learn that when i needed them the change the towels in the hotel and they didn't know what it was.

haha this tuala i dunno , thanks anyway

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @auleo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44