How I survived with RM150.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

Hello Steemians!
How was your day? 😎

So, I was scrolling my steemit account earlier today and I came across to this contest. I think it is interesting and I decided to join in.

This my entry for @danieldoughty Tell Your Story Contest.

I was studying in medical college at Sungai Buloh, Selangor from 2008 until 2011. Government provide allowance for us but I don't think it is enough because the cost of living there is rising. It kinda embarrassing to ask for money from my parents as I know they also needed the money to provide for my other siblings.

In July 2009, I went back to Sabah for my practical. I rent a room at Kepayan Ridge. Luckily I have friend who wanted to share the room with me and we decided to split the cost.

Wait.. it is only the introduction. Here is the main story.. 😂 after deducting all the cost of living in Kota Kinabalu, only RM150 left in my account. I'm trying to find a solution on how to not feel burden by the feeling of having not enough money in my account.

Then one night, when I was scrolling through the internet, I came across a page who able to help buyer to buy things from Japan. I know Digimon kinda hot during that time so I decided to spend all RM150 on the cheapest model available and start a small business. You can't get a Digimon from local toy shop even now!

Contents01.jpg
The first model of Digimon I bought. Digimon Mini Xros War

I waited around 2 weeks before the item reached me. As soon as the item reached I took a picture of then and posted them on Mudah.my.

post-378635-1345048915.jpg
Things I have in stock during my college time

It not long before someone contacted me to buy the item. I get RM200 for the item. I was so happy! Then I bought the same model and sell it again. It is not fast as before but finally the item was sold out again. Maybe there is not enough viewer at Mudah. So I decided to create an account at Lowyat.net and set up a blog to sell my item. I was known by the name 'charkuoi' back then.

I tried to add Tamagotchi in my stock but the sky is not always bright. I got scammed by seller from ebay. The item I bought never arrived. I was down for a few days.

Screenshot_2018-02-18-19-59-49.png
My selling post at Lowyat.net. It has 10.3k viewers!

Thank God everything went smoothly after that and the small business was succesful. I buy many more model to satisfy demand in the market. I enjoy doing the business. I don't have to worry about my bank account anymore but still I have to worry about my exam. 😂

I decided to stop selling before my college time finish. With my profit from selling toys I bought my self a smart phone, it is a Samsung Galaxy 5!
There is still some money left. I used them wisely and thank God it was enough (because I also got allowance monthly 😂😂) until I finish my study.

The moral is, never give up on what you enjoy doing. I'm not a holy person but I do believe in God. He is there to help if you ask.

Thanks!!

P/s: now I can buy things from Japan by myself with aim to start selling again within 10 years. Why is it taking so long? Because I got other commitment for now. 😂😂😂😂

Do upvote if you like my entry, follow and resteem is very much appreciated.

Sort:  

Wow.. Thanks for sharing.. Usually, like I used to, only when we are tight with budget that business idea pop in ur mind.. Haha

True bro.. as long we want to try, anything is possible.

Very interesting n busines minded during your student years!!! Kudos to you!!

Thanks bro! :)

Great story @aphours, you set a good example to others with your cunning business mind.

Hahaha.. i hope this can inspire people.

Wow! Good that you have the initiative to find extra pocket money.

Thanks. Hahahaha~ that one history already..

very enterprising, when one is push to a corner , survival of the fittest kicks in.

True bro..

You should have listen to my story on how I manage to survive with rm3.😂😂

That one lain.. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54960.01
ETH 2314.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32