How far will you support your friends business?

in #teammalaysia7 years ago

Many times, you will see friends posting up their new ventures or projects on social media. But how many of you would gladly support & share their hard work?

Remember, they put their heart & soul in whatever they do, just as you would if the business is yours.

Wouldn’t you want others to show their support to yours too if it’s the other way around?

Chances of you ‘not’ supporting the business is because:

• You didn’t bother to read or find out what it is all about;
• You don’t think their business is interesting;
• Their business is not your business, so why bother?
• They’re not who’s who, they won’t make it

On the other hand, it’s kind of contradicting when you support celebrities or some public figures with their already successful business ventures when you hardly know them.

S5.jpeg

Why the double standard-lah?

You may not know how important it is your support to your friends. Especially the ones that just started and putting in effort at the same time.

Everyone’s struggle is different, so it didn’t hurt to support one another – as long as it helps them to earn decent income and make a living.

When you share their businesses online, those within your circle might benefit from it too.

Here’s what you can do to support your friends small ventures:

  1. Take time to read about their business, you may ask questions if you wish. Don’t quickly scroll and make ‘dunno-lah’. Imagine if it’s the other way around and your friends do that to you.

  2. Share on your wall and tag other friends that might be interested. Most of the time I observed that people just share and expect others to notice. You didn’t tag them, so how would they know?

  3. When your friends posted something and they tagged you, it means they want you to look at it and support. Not for you to glance through and ignore.

  4. Buy something from them. Doesn’t have to be expensive ones. If you can afford Starbucks, movies and good food almost every week/weekend, I am sure you can buy something from your friends.

  5. Attend their event. Even if it’s a short one. When they did come to your event, reciprocate.

  6. Give suggestions. Let them know you care to see them grow too.

Of course there are many other ways to show your support. The above are just some of it.

S6.jpg

So folks, do support your friends small ventures as long as it is legit and doesn’t harm others. You may never know someday you may need their support too.

I am currently organizing a Women Conference (see image below) next month and would love everyone to come and support! Although its meant for women, men are welcome too because the event's line ups can benefit them too. Everything is well researched, designed and prepared from total scratch from the dining table of my house in between Mommy duties!

I sacrificed sleep for the past couple of nights and I thank God of my ability to multitask & learned fast even if its draining (mind, body & soul) sometimes. I have never pushed my abilities thus far and I am amazed what these two bare hands (plus brain, complement by mugs of coffees + late night snacks) can do!

Event's fee expensive or noooot? Well, it certainly doesn't cost you arms & legs to participate compared to the value of takeaways that you will bring with you at the end of the day. If you can afford weekend getaways, good food, latest gadgets, this one is peanuts for you.

HER Conference (3).png

Check out the event's web page here > https://helloherportal.wixsite.com/herconference

Thank you in advance for the support and please SHARE! May you be bless in thousand folds! If you are coming to the event after reading this, let me know who you are so I will make sure I reciprocate back.

Sort:  

I love your tag malaysianmom. Maybe I should use it too sometime :) . Yes, I agree about friends not supporting your venture. I am an artist and I take portrait commission. Even though I charge far cheaper than most artists, I still don't get support from friends and family. Most of them expect me to do it for FREE and they said in return they will help me to promote. All my sweat and time for free? Well I tell them what if they go to the office every single day and the boss doesn't pay them at the end of the month? How do they feel? Because that exactly how I feel. I need to pay my bills and feed my kids too like them :)

All the best to your event :)

Spot on! I feel you @coloringiship! Friends should support one another instead of taking advantage of each other. How can they ask us to give FREE stuffs when it requires our time and effort to produce a good work? I just dont it with these people too. Which is why if they ever ask me for my favor, I would ask them what do I get in return. Come on! A tit for tat! :)

Exactly. Friend is friend. Business is business. Doesn't mean when I ask for payment that I am not their friend. What kind of thinking is that kan? Some people give you bad attitude and called you stingy when you ask for payment.

Congratulations @angiechin28! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very true, upvoted!! First time seeing a malaysianmom tag.. can i use a malaysiandad tag, i wonder..

Lols @alvinauh, you can always try! Lets promote Malaysian Moms and Dads! :D

thank you for this article angie! just sharing my experience: my friend runs a cafe and his siblings are helping him. it's basically a family business and the food there isn't the cheapest, but it's good. my church friends and I always go there to eat and his cafe is the only makan place i won't be stingy with. 1 year later, their business breakeven... even though they are operating in a very competitive area with at least 6 cafes in a single stretch! goes to show that with a little support from everyone, anyone can make it. friends are supposed to help and not take advantage of the friendship!

Completely agree with you. Also a fellow artist here! This has been going on till God knows when, and it hasn't change sadly...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50