Million Dollar Challenge — A TeamGood Post

in #teamgood6 years ago (edited)

This is a fun one. The idea of this challenge is to say what you’d do in the first 24 hours if given a million dollars. I don’t know who originated this one, so please speak up if you know where it came from.

I read @fishyculture’s million dollar challenge post yesterday, and was planning on nominating myself, but then @enginewitty was kind enough to nominate me. (Thanks, my friend!)


via giphy.com
(Off subject, did you know there's a live action version of Aladdin slated for 2019?)


What would I do in the first 24 hrs with a fresh million?


1) Set aside 10% to make the world a better place. Yes, I’d give $100,000 of my million away. I am aware and very grateful that I already have it good, and that there are a lot of people who live in poverty, including refugees. There are also way too many animals in need. @youarehope and @tarc would see a chunk of this 10% (and will receive the payout from this #teamgood post, so go heavy on the upvotes, please!)

2) Hire someone to finish my house. We’ve been building an addition on our house for FIVE FREAKING YEARS! I’m over it. Get it done, already.

3) Invest $50,000 into cryptocurrency, and $50,000 (maybe more) into silver and gold. Speaking of, would someone be so kind as to show me the door into #steemsilvergold?

4) Pay off our debt. ‘Nuff said.

5) Buy tickets to a few music festivals. My man and I used to go to festivals every summer. Then we had kids. I’d like to have fun with him again on the dance floor, so I’d also fly @saffisara out to come with us. She can help with the kids, then take her turn to get her groove on to the music.

6) Go shopping. I have too many clothes with holes in them. I’d rather spend money on organic food than replace my clothes, but it would be nice to refresh my wardrobe.

7) Go house hunting. Yes, I already have a house, but we’re planning to sell in the next year or two and move to a more progressive community in BC.

8) Send a portion to my parents. I have incredibly generous parents, and I’d love to send them a cheque to thank them for all the ways they've helped me in my life.

9) Order a custom Toyota Sienna. I will never understand why they don’t make badass mini-vans in North America. Whatever, I’ll make my own. The Sienna is the only van offered in AWD, so I’ll buy one of them and have a pop-top roof with a bed welded on top. Yes, I’m basically trying to make a dependable VW Westfalia. Then I’m gonna take that thing all over and meet as many awesome Steemians as I can. First stop, hot springs with @fishyculture. Then south to meet up with @eaglespirit and @carrieallen (if they want to come play) and say hello to my home mountains of Colorado.

I think that about takes care of the million dollars. Whatever is left over can go in the bank... or something.


Nominations


I’d love to see the following people weigh in on what they’d do with this kind of money:

@rhondak
@ameliabartlett
@zen-art
@hazem91
@carrieallen

If you read this and haven’t been nominated, but want to do this challenge, please consider yourself tagged! Let me know when you post it so I can read, ‘cause I think this one is super fun and interesting.

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

the alliance
Banner by @bearone

Steemsugars

Sort:  

You are such a kind heart. Get prepared to get your million dollars soon.

Aw, thank you! That would be amazing. :)

I enjoyed reading this, it is fun but it also shows person's character a bit.

I like the ideas you have and how you would spread one million in different areas of your life and to different people. Treating ourselves a little is also important. :)

I'm glad you nominated Hazem, I can't wait to read his post! :D

haha no pressure please :D

Thanks so much for reading, @nikolina! Yes, I love these challenges for helping us get to know each other better. I'd love to see you do one as well, if you're so inspired! :)

This is a fun challange
I don't imagine myself spending it in 24 hours lol
but I can imagine what I would plan to do with it ;)

Your answers anre very interesting by the way. It shows how amazing you are :)

No, I don't imagine I'd spend it all in 24 hrs, but I tried to give a plan of how things might go here.

And thank you, my friend. You're amazing as well. :)

A nice plan you got there honey, thanks for the nominations, I will do it in a couple of days, I have even set my self an alarm for it so I do not forget lol. Reading this was such a lovely part of my Sunday 💚

Oh you're so organized! I've been nominated for challenges I've already forgotten about. Ha! Looking forward to reading yours, though. :)

Fun challenge and awesome answers! A million seems like a lot, but as you see, it's gone before you know it, haha! I'd probably buy houses for a few of the people I love (including myself ;-)) since that relieves a lot of pressure and sort of generates financial freedom for all of them (and me.)

I'd do a lot more, including sponsor some charities in my neighbourhood I work for, but yeah, the immediate need is always: knowing you will forever have a place to live and not worry about it.

Okay, I totally thought of nominating you, so feel free to do a post if you're so inspired. But, yes on buying houses and helping people out. I agree, having a home is #1.

Oh, and I need to understand #steemsilvergold too, if you've found the answer, please whisper it in my ear :')

whispering via discord ;)

Very interesting all your proposals, I don't know why I didn't see you take something for some book publication? but I still think you'd do a great job with all that money, hope you win it soon, good luck.

lol! I didn't even think about a budget for book publishing. You're right, I should set some aside for that too! Thanks so much, my friend. Always good to see you here.

it's your turn to restructure the lol budget, thanks to you for your kind answer.

Solid and detailed plan, Katrina! I am sure Santa reads :)

Ha! Well, never too early to get on Santa's good side. ;)

Invest $50,000 into cryptocurrency

Would that be Steem by any chance ? ;)
That would get you moving forward towards Whale status :)

I think I'd invest some in Steem, and some in other coins. So many to choose from! But, yes, I'd love to have a bigger vote and be able to share the love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82