You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feeling My Power - Day 99 - Daily Haiku - My Entry for the TeamGirlPowa Feminist Fire Poetry Competition

This is the kind of post I love to read. And I almost passed it up. (There are just so many to read, you know...). And then, a simple haiku transformed into something altogether different - an expose of heart and soul. So much of the stuff here is so shallow or just fluffy, with little value or content it makes me weary and, yes, disappointed with Steemit. So you saved the day.

Yes, I feel your pain for having given up your dog. Were I a competent Priest I say, "Bless you my daughter, all is well."

I'm an astrologer you know so from your self-description you must have strong Libra in your chart somewhere. Sun or Moon most likely, perhaps in the 8th house, or 12th.

Anyway, enjoyed your writing and your haiku. Blessings dear one. You have fulfilled your calling as an Wise Woman today.

Sort:  

Thank you, @mistermercury, I appreciate your kind words.

As for the astrological take, I'm don't recall precisely where Libra falls in my chart, except to know that it is indeed there, as the only sign I'm missing is Pisces.

I was born October 26th, so depending on the source, it is often depicted as the last day of the cusp with Libra. I identified strongly with Libra as a child, though as an adult I have embraced my Scorpio sun, both scorpion and eagle. But I've always retained the Libra desire for fairness and balance in all things.

My moon is in Aries, and I've got Cancer rising. I'm actually a quintuple Scorpio, which I didn't even know was possible until a close friend did my chart some years back, and handed it to me with the comment, "Well, that explains a lot!"

If nothing else, it helps to explain my love for Luxembourg's walls within walls within walls. ;-)

As for giving up Ebony, I know that everything happens for a reason, and no matter how much I'd like to go back and change it, in the end, it is a big part of what made me who I am. I am far more compassionate as a result of what I've been through, on many levels, and that I would not change.

And today, I can talk about her fondly and rationally, and see her photos, and be grateful that I had her in my life, without the need for dragging myself over the coals. What is done is done, and while it was beyond painful, I know that she would have forgiven me without question, no matter what.

So to forgive myself is a way to honor her. I am so grateful to have known her and to have had her love and grace in my life.

I'm making peace with my past, though it is an ongoing journey for certain, and I even spent time forgiving my rapist, who I saw clearly as a scared child who had been abused himself, and had developed a misplaced need for power over others as a direct result.

By forgiving those who have wronged us, we free ourselves from bondage, and hopefully, on some level at least, free them as well. Only by breaking the cycle can we effect real change.

By refusing to forgive, we harm only ourselves, which makes absolutely no sense at all.

Which brings to mind my favorite quote by Dr. Martin Luther King:

"Darkness cannot drive out darkness. Only light can do that.
Hate cannot drive out hate. Only love can do that."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43