The First Weekly Team Cancun Steemit Meet Up - Could Steemfest 3 Be In Cancun?

in #teamcancun7 years ago (edited)

This week was the first of many more to come Steemit meetups in Cancun, Mexico. A core group of Steemians in Cancun have formed a new group to help promote Steemit.

The group consists of @luzcypher, @mithrilweed, @donnaincancun, @camiomarlin, and @keith11walker.

Team_Cancun_Steemit_Meetup.png

We will be posting updates of our progress using the tag:

teamcancun

SPOILER ALERT

We have a master plan to create a group so large that it would just make sense to have Steemfest 3 in Cancun next year. Can it be done? Follow us and watch for yourself.

How do we plan to build this group?
The KISS principle is, well, simple, yet we often over think things when taking on projects involving groups. To build any large group around an idea all the core group needs to do is bring someone to the meetup and do it every week.

As others start showing up weekly they will start doing the same.

It can't be that simple you say? Yes, it is. If each one can reach one and do that for each meet up the rest takes care of itself.

That's how Open Mic was built, that's how I build a crowd of people showing up at my shows, that's how Steemit is growing, and how even Amazon and Facebook were built.

Once a crowd starts showing up it takes on a life of its own and all those inspired, motivated minds come up with amazing ideas we haven't even thought of.

steemit_meetup.jpg

Team Cancun

I can see the looks of curiosity on the faces of the people who will be coming to our meetups for the first time wondering what it is we are selling.

"What does it cost to join?", they will ask. Nothing?

"Nothing but your attention and Proof-Of-Brain.", we'll reply. "You can afford to pay attention, right?" And you can prove you have a brain. right? OK, that might be a little harder for some of you but most of us have a brain and can prove it.

I love that look on their faces when they realize we are not asking them to buy a product. Instead, we are asking them to share their value and attention and be rewarded for it.

This is one of the most unique value propositions I have ever seen and it tends to attract some interesting people to it.

I signed up @mysevenworlds recently and funded her account through Anon Steem so she could start without delay. As usual, when I sign someone up I know personally I do a post about them asking you, my wonderfully supportive followers, to go say hi with a warm welcome. I explained that any earnings my post receive I would transfer to her account when it pays out in a week.

Why would you do that?", she asked.

The baffled look on her face was priceless. You can't blame anyone for being skeptical but I still find it very amusing.

Because I'm cool like that.", I told her. There's no need to explain more, really.

How could she possibly know the generosity people on Steemit have bestowed upon me? So much so that I feel the only right thing to do is pay it forward. That's how we roll here on Steemit, where a gift economy is alive and well.

proud_of_you.jpg

Iamge credit

While I'm on the topic of people I've introduced to Steemit I want to say I'm really proud of @anomadsoul for plugging into the Steemit community in a big way. He's bringing a lot of value to the Steemit platform and helping a lot of people make this platform work for them. Way to go, bro!

Getting back on topic, in my view, Cancun is the perfect place to introduce people to Steemit and, if all goes to plan, have Steemfest 3 next year.

Cancun has beautiful beaches, delicious food, great shopping, is multicultural, WiFi connected, has easy transportation, is economical, and offers many unique things to do from scuba diving, skydiving, jet skiing, parasailing, swimming with dolphins and whales (like we minnows do every day), zip lines, water parks, eco-jungle tours, cenotes, fire dancing, nightclub hopping, and beach parties just to name a few.

The resorts are plentiful, accommodating, and all-inclusive.

If Steemfest 3 was held in Cancun during the first week of November (which happens to be the cheapest time to come here for both accommodations and flights) all attendees would be easily taken care of from the moment they land in the airport.

There are many resorts that could have us all in one location. Of course, Steemians will stay where they want to stay and would have plenty of options close to the main event, but they are numerous resorts that could handle 500-600 people showing up for an event like Steemfest.

With a group that size booking on the least expensive week of the year in Cancun they would welcome us with open arms.

They have conference rooms, wifi, all meals and beverages including alcohol, transportation to and from attractions, right on a talcum-powdered, white sand beach overflowing with cold beers and hot girls in bikinis.

@roelandp, if you're listening, I would like to extend an open invitation to come visit Cancun and do some scouting with me for possibly having Steemfest 3 here next year.

If you would like to thaw out for a bit in Cancun I could help with that right now. Bring some suntan lotion and I'll take care of the rest. Thank you again for taking such wonderful care of all of us at this years Steemfest. You really thought of everything and are definitely the man for the job of organizing these events. Well done!

steemit_meetup_2.jpg

Team Cancun

And if you can't make it then please just think about adding Cancun on your radar for locations to next year's Steemfest 3.

I'm so excited we are starting Team Cancun and look forward to seeing this group grow and evolve into a thriving Steemit community.

Thanks, @mithrilweed, @donnaincancun, @camiomarlin, and @keith11walker for your help. Be sure to follow the tag teamcancun for more updates to come.

Related Posts

The First Ever Steemit Cancun Meeting --- by @donnaincancun

A New Force Has Emerged On Steemit --- by @mithrilweed

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

YES!

This is an awesome move and I think that Cancun would be an awesome place for SF3!

It has all the qualities you mentioned which would be great for SF!

I would love to come down and help plan/organize the SF. Lets be in touch. I will talk to @roelandp about the idea!

Full Steem Ahead!

YES! That would be awesome @quinneaker if you put a word in and helped come organize it. We can make it rock.

I think if you and @roelandp came down here this cold winter and thawed out a bit while scouting locations it would be a first step in the right direction. Of course, it's dangerous in Mexico. What with the sunburns and Tequila Sunrises running around everywhere. You can't be too careful. But we'll get through it somehow.

What do you say teamcancun? Should we invite these guys down here for a little scouting trip Cancun style?

Hahahahhahaa lucky I live on the wild side and danger is my middle name ;-)>

hahaaahhahahaa haven't seen that in so long but I remember the quote so often!!!

Scouting trip? Which of thee may be a scout?

Aww thanks for the mention of my post mate! We may be starting small but teamcancun is going to be HUGE! It would be awesome for Steemfest 3 to be here!

TeamCancun is going to the moon!

congratulations, I'm from Cancun, where do the meetings? I would like to attend your meetings

PM me on steemit chat or discord and ill add you to the Facebook messenger group

Ooooh how exciting!! Another newbie!! 😁

oooh yeah, nice to meet you, I hope that this will come on many people.

I think we met at a Bitcuners meetup.

Oh my god @luzcypher, this is so exciting!!! This is a genious idea and I would love to join your Cancun meet up sometime!!!

Hi @plantbasedmiri that would be awesome! You would be very welcome! We just found a cool Vegan restaurant to hold our next meeting! There's a lot of us moving towards a plant based diet now!

Find me on Facebook and I will add you to the group there.

wow that's awesome!! I would love to join you there, and I'm so glad to hear that you are moving towards vegan diet :)

It was a fun night to be sure. Unfortunately I've been away for too long (a few months) from the Steemit platform. Over those months Steemit has grown wonderfully as a true powerhouse entity on the internet. I enjoyed learning about Steepshot, Dtube and Dmania using the steem block chain.
I just signed up with the app Steepshot using Google play and it works perfectly! 1 down 2 to go ha ha.
Having Steemfest in Cancun Mexico is the most logical step to positively grow Steemit. Looking forward to the next meeting up. Very well written post.

Cool, I want a full report of how Steepshot is working for you.
First meetup was fun. More to come.

I can just imagine the looks on peoples' faces when you tell them the 'requirements' to join :) Priceless!

Requirements to kill it in Steemit:

  1. Join
  2. Blog daily
  3. Engage with the community.

Rinse and repeat.

Thanks @luzcypher I'm on it :) Do you recommend joining chats?

I'm on chats all day every day. Can you remind me? What did we chat about?

Yes, I recommend joining chats on Steemit chat but also Discord. That's where all the action is. Think of it like being backstage in a worldwide show. If you're in Mexico you can join us here at Team Mexico On Steemit And Discord New Steemit Support Group On The Pal Network

@luzcypher Can't wait! #teamcancun something definitely worth keeping an eye on from now on!
Wish you every success guys, all five of you deserve it!

Highest Regards
@lordneroo

It's going to be huge!

Welcome to steemit world dear friend.. 'Team Cancun' personally i am appreciating all of you guys.. Hope all of you will bring huge good news with your awesome content or post for us... Best of luck dear....

AWEsome to c this @lucifer! I support and look forward to seeing steemfest 3 default to cancun due to overwhelming numbers in cancun! Why waste all that jet fuel travelling when u can burn it on top of zambucas and moonshine in the bars of cancun ;))

That story of the moonshine was in one resort only but I'm sure the press in the U.S. will milk that story for all it's worth. Cancun would be an awesome place to have Steemfest 3!

It's great to know there are so many people on Steemit in this area, looking forward to meet all of you and thank you so much Frank for introducing me to this community. :)

My pleasure and it's good to see you posting regularly. You'll be a dolphin soon.

Steemians are everywhere, we just need a reason to get together and we're there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51