I'm a part time sheep farmer too

in #teamcanada7 years ago

Resized_20170418_111851.jpeg

My little brother and his family are making their go at homesteading on a quarter section of land here in Saskatchewan. Their main goal is to earn an income from sheep farming, but plan on building a greenhouse and having a few other animals mixed in aswell.
He asked for help buying his first group of sheep so I pitched in a couple hundred dollars. Well fast forward a couple of years and my sheep have multiplied. The above picture is one of mine that had triplets this spring.
I go out with my boys and help with fencing, and machinery whenever I get a chance. Recently we finished a new pen and moved 80 sheep and the donkey to the new pen.

20170806_195846.jpg

It's diffucult to get a good shot when your rounding up sheep.

20170806_202858.jpg

We moved them from one pen to another then to another then to another before getting to the new one.

20170806_203826.jpg

Once to the new pen they got spooked and half of them ran back to the first pen, man I'm too old to run like that anymore.

Finally they all found their way to the buffet. I don't think they cared about the sunset!

20170806_203822.jpg

@edthecanadian 🇨🇦

Sort:  

but it was a beautiful sunset

Those are some nice photos. We have a bit of land here in northern ontario and would love to get a bit of livestock one day, but not to this scale. Well done and congrats.

Sheep are very low maintenance animals and the keep the weeds down too.

Very cool story. I wish u and them all the best. Baaa lol

I think sheep are such cool animals, thanks for the story @edthecanadian.

I love the sunset with the sheep. What a great way to spend the day; with family, getting fresh air and exercise, great photo ops to boot!

It is kind of fun and refreshing to get back to basics.

Congratulations @edthecanadian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very cool ed! I think it's wonderful to be so close with nature and Earth like that. I look forward to more of your posts and pictures, I am now following you thanks to finding you through the #steemsilvergold group.

Thanks for the kind words. Most of blogging is just random junk that turns the wheels in my head.
See you around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79