Bonsai Journal 06Aug18: Growing Avocado Tree and Bonsai

in #teambonsai6 years ago

avocado-2115922_1920.jpg

I have always wanted to grow an Avocado from seed. I also always wanted my own Avo tree. And I love Bonsais.

So I decided to do all three. A few weeks ago I took 2 avo pips and placed them with steel nails (I was out of toothpicks at that time) over some water in a glass. I only allowed the bottom of the pip to be wet at all times, making sure to change the water at least twice a week.

The one will be grown into a tree that will hopefully provide me with fruit one day, although I have read it is hard to know whether it will produce fruit. The one that will be a tree grew to this:

20180803_075738.jpg

As per research on several websites, I learnt that I had to cut this down from 15cm to 8cm, which I then proceeded to do. Once it reaches 15cm again, I believe I need to place this in a pot of soil.

20180803_075848.jpg

So while I am waiting for that to grow back, the avo I am planning to grow as a bonsai is still growing its roots and must still produce a stem. It is very rare for anyone to grow an avo tree as a bonsai, due to the large leaves and fruit, but with the right pruning, the leaves can be tamed to grow smaller.

20180803_075924.jpg

Thank you for reading my Bonsai journal today.


Header Image: Pixabay


Please support my work by subscribing for FREE to one of the following:

Silent Hill Obversion Banner

Malum Newsletter banner

Patreon banner


@shadowolfdg is a punkstiny.png SteemPunk and Steemit article Mentor for @schoolofminnows

Member of @teamsouthafrica

Post of the Day Award - @adsactly

Official Promoter for @tpot -- join our discord channel


Kind regards

Shaun M Jooste

Joint-Owner: AIR Entertainment (https://airentertainment.biz)
Director: Celenic Earth Publications (https://celenicearthpublications.wordpress.com)
Author, Screenwriter, Gamewriter, Journalist (https://celenicearth.wordpress.com)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-06T07:52:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 120.60/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Now that should be interesting to hear if it develops fruit @shadowolfdg really taking a large tree into small...

We seem to be of a similar mind, as we have recently settled here in the Overberg and I want to plant an Avo tree. Where I come from as a child at Zebediela in the north, we had plenty of Avo trees, but nothing here! Thank you for the tips. Blessings and upvoted!

I've loved bonsai trees since I was a kid, but never actually owned any (I do own a bonsai braai now though:_).

@CraigCryptoKing is big into them too and a few of his recent posts got me thinking about it again... and now this post!

Is it true though that even as a Bonsai, the fruit would be "normal" size? How cool would it be though if it actually produced mini avos? :-)

Anyway... Your post has me made convinced ... I HAVE to try my hand at growing some bonsai / ?bonsais?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71