Quick video before I post the full article on the #winterpruning I did on this Celtis Africana.

in #teambonsai6 years ago

Slide8.jpegI finally committed to work on this tree. It took me a full thirty three minutes to complete the pruning on this tree. I mentioned in a previous blog that I would be wiring some of the smaller branches into place.

Before I started to work on the tree I tested a few of the branches to see how strong they are. They were still flexible but they are very thin. I decided to form the finer ramification on this tree using the clip and grow technique. If I applied wire to the small branches they would thicken up really fast in spring. Getting wire off after the tree is filled with leave will be a difficult thing to do as you can see that the branch ramification in dense. Damaging leave and new tender branches.

I had to prune the tree quite hard. There were a few dead branches in between the small branches.

I will be posting a detailed blog on the work I did on this tree later.

Please feel free to leave your comments below.

#teambonsai
#bonsaicommunity
Bwr GIF-downsized.gifDQmU22agjpDK7AFdH4CAmVtbaUf3v1jvCFz6FSRdXbvxFZx.gif

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57