1000 Steps - Kokoda Track Memorial Walk.

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

20100626_009.jpg

This is one of my favourite smartphone photo taken long ago when my partner and I decided to go to 1000 steps in the Dandenong Ranges. 1000 steps is a Kokoda Track Memorial Walk. Many people head here for fitness training because the steps are very steep and the step tread and rise sizes vary. Also those who plan to head to the real Kokoda Trail would come here to train.

Created in the early 1900s, the 1000 Steps Walk was originally made from the trunks of tree ferns laid along the wetter areas of the track to make the 290 metre ascent somewhat easier. These have been replaced by a combination of wooden steps and concrete section overtime to ensure that the track can cater for users year round in all weather.

Plaques along the trail depict the lives of the soldiers who fought and died on the real Kokoda Trail in Papua New Guinea, during World War II. The steps represent the ‘Golden Staircase’, a name given by Australian soldiers to the 2000 steps cut by the Australian Army Engineers and others into the track between Uberi and Imita Ridge.”

source

I was very unfit back then and I barely made it half way down since we started from the top. It was a wet day too with constant rain dribbling through the forest trees landing onto all the wooden and stone steps. It made it a bit slippery on some of the stone steps yet we saw people running really fast up and down the steps as though it was nothing.


I had to wait a while to take this photo because there were so many people going up and down the steps. They also built on the sides of the steps small platforms so you can stand to the side to rest or stand to the side to let other go pass if you are too slow or struggling like I was.

20100626_012.jpg

On one of the platforms I was having a rest on, in the distance I saw this broken tree which looked like something had just broken free.

20100626_010.jpg

There was just something captivating about these trees, maybe it is the combination of the misty rain and nature.

20100626_008.jpg


Sort:  

So haunting!

I think @steemitworldmap would love to have this in their travel digest. Check 'em out and add it in...

That first photo is so good!

Thanks!

Oh wow, the steemit worldmap is really cool. Great way to get more information and reviews of places to visit! Thanks for letting me know, I've popped this post in.
Cheers!

hummm not sure if I did something wrong or it is because they are on a break and it requires a manual review? But I added the code to my post and nothing happened.

It looks magical

It was really amazing, if only I was fit enough to reach the end. Apparently there is a picnic area. Maybe one day I will return when I am more fit lol or just drive to the other end

Stairs are hell if you aren't fit, that was an ambitious walk to tackle

hahahaha yea it was

great adventure!! Meow!

Impresionante ese bosque natural

Love nature walks! I like the fog in the, too. Thank you for the vicarious adventure :).

hehehe you're welcome. I really like the fog too. Makes it more mysterious.

beautiful scenery

thanks, you can't go wrong with nature, always beautiful to look at

Australia is so beautiful, its like walking into fairytale. ❤️❤️❤️

Wow, that could could be used as the backdrop in a movie, its absolutely beautiful.

hehehehe I get what you mean, like something coming out of the fog between the trees.

wow...nice photos...its look like your in the middle of the forest...I love nature too

hehehe it is sort of in the middle of a forest. Nature is beautiful, especially the smell of the forest after it has rained.

This is beautiful @supersoju

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48