Hidden Sculpture Garden Sunshine Coast Australia

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Today I visited the Sunshine Coast Bushland Botanic Gardens with my family. I have taken a few photos to share some of the sculptures.

The garden was a community driven project in partnership with the local government. The sculptures were created on site between 2005-2009 by both local and international artists. Carved from local sandstone and Marble from North Queensland (fosilised coral reef ), set in a beautiful glade garden surrounded by the Australian bush, these gardens really are a hidden gem.

There was a QR code at the entry which links to a website with some more background and info for those that are interested.

IMG_5150.JPG

IMG_5134.JPG

IMG_5149.JPG

IMG_5141.JPG

IMG_5145.JPG @frobear and Wombat

IMG_5136.JPG

I hope you like the sculpture garden photos and if you ever visit the Sunshine Coast Australia come check them out yourself.

All photos by @stephen-somers iPhone 6s

IMG_4865.PNG

Sort:  

Wow. Nice photos. I'll definitely have to go there when I am up that way next. Thanks for sharing.

This is the first post I've done in a while due to working too hard then getting slapped down by a health issue. We visited the garden for some nice family time and it was so nice I just had to share it.

I love the fact that all those awesome sculptures are surround by nature. I feel like I see soo many statues and sculptures in non-natural areas, that it's just soo refreshing seeing some in nature.

I love that they were created onsite from local stone and materials by international artists. Each one was sponsored by benefactors who paid the artists travel and living costs.

Indeed beautiful pictures.

Some awesome sculptures there, I like the snake and the wombat the most, thanks for sharing, cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48