You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Human Right Commission infiltrates the Australian Defence Force

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

Mate this comes up in the IT industry all the time.

What happened to best person for the job. While I obviously approve of initiatives to educate more women on some of these jobs - that is only in so far as widening the potential employment pool.

But as a woman I would be mortified if I got a job simply because I was a woman and not based on my skills and being best suited. And you are 100% right, it is discriminatory against men.

Unfortunately I've been on diversity councils where they only focus on gender diversity (which in most companies means a female quota) I get absolutely shunted by the other women for my views that it is best person regardless of gender.

In IT at least (because that's my experience) - we should be looking at why women may not want to be applying for the roles in the first place and fixing that. Not setting quotas that discriminate against men.

But I seem to be in the minority of women in those thoughts and apparently I am setting back the womens movement by decades lol!

If I had a daughter I would want her to feel the pride of getting a job because she was the best person for it.

Okay sorry started a rant there.. but this one is close to my heart :)

Sort:  

you're 100% correct, there is no pride in getting a job just because your a woman. If you're not talented enough to get it on your own, you shouldn't have it.
My wifes doing an assignment at this moment on Diversity, and it basically tells them that others (aboriginals) aren't good enough and that they have to be treated special. Now this is complete horse shit, if they can't do the job then they don't get it. It also points to gays as well, saying you have to treat them different.
Fuck that!! if you're no good at your job, you loose it, no matter what or who you are.
Its PC gone mad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72