Amateur Adventurer at Home #1: Toowoon Bay to Picnic Point

In the past I've shared a fair few posts about my trips overseas. Probably because Australia is so damn far away from everything else in the world that we just get super excited when we leave the country!

But when I stop and think about it, and when I've been away on extended trips that go for months - I remember just how beautiful it is right in my own back yard, so I thought I'd share some of my adventures at home, and hopefully spread the word about just how beautiful our little island down under is.

Now for the purposes of this series, Home is defined as pretty much anywhere in Australia.

So let's get on with it then shall we?

Sunrise at The Entrance Surf Club
the entrance 2.jpg

Sometimes on a weekend a group of us drag ourselves out of bed.. more or less despite what state we may have got into it an hour or so early. Well some of us anyway.. that of course will never be me. I mean my body is a temple - blah, blah, blah.....


Me- looking much happier about going for a run than I really feel.
I am that good of an actress!

15697970_10154981238332249_7018906113742948839_n.jpg

I might whinge and grumble every time. But I have to say once I'm there, I am almost always rewarded with views and a sunrise you just can't beat.

Sunrise at Toowoon Bay
toowoon bay 5.jpg

toowoon bay 4.jpg

The run (or shuffle) itself is nothing exciting - up the beach - running (or crawling) up each set of stairs to do sit-ups, push-ups, and dips at the top and then back up the beach to do more of the same.

Toowoon Bay Beach
toowoon bay 3.jpg

toowoon bay 2.jpg

I'm not an out and back sort of person so when the others turn to head back towards the surfclub at about 2.5kms in I keep heading around the lack... and this is where I get rewarded with some of the best views on the coast.. and lots of "me-time" to soak it all in!

The Surf Watch Tower
20170521_065848.jpg

The Entrance Channel
20170521_065931.jpg

Fisherman's Wharf hosts a number of cafes, bars and restaurants and a great halfway stop for a caffeine hit (yeah my body isn't that much of a temple!) There are always plenty of pelicans around looking for a free feed. In fat at 3pm everyday they come in and put a show on for anyone who might be around. All in the name of free fish of course!

Fisherman's Wharf
the entrance 4.jpg

Pelicans
the entrance 3.jpg

One of the great facilities that are starting to pop up all over the coast are public fitness parks. Being a bit of a fitness nut I'm please to see that councils around the country are making exercise accessible to everyone. You don't need to pay for gym fees and there are a wide raft of exercises you can do.

Fitness park at The Entrance
the entrance 1.jpg.

For anyone who's energetic the bike path runs along all the way from The Entrance Surf Club round past Picnic Point for another 20kms moving past the coast and around the lake edge. It's a stunning, walk / run /ride and weekends get pretty busy as families decend with their kids and bikes and skate boards. Facilities - toilets, playgrounds and BBQs are dotted all the way along the track.

I hope you enjoyed this quick look at one of the prettiest parts of the Central Coast. Its a great place to get out of doors, enjoy yourself and keep fit at the same time.

Stay tuned for more in this series.

signature.gif


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!

Sort:  

Stunning! Very jealous now! Hellow from sunny London :D

hahaha - I laugh because now it's 8pm at night and it's pelting down rain.. so London is prob great right now in Summer lol!

lolol true, its actually not too bad at the moment :P we've got about 23C and sunny :) up to 26 in the weekend :D getting the bikini ready lol

Beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing :-)

thank you - glad you enjoyed them!

You are very welcome :-)

lovely♥♥♥♥♥

Glad you enjoyed the post

Australia is a beautiful country! So grateful to be here at the moment!
Thanks for sharing your stunning photos with us.

I enjoyed your adventue. Australia definitely has some beautiful beaches. I live in Sydney and love Coogee and Bondi. I followed you.

Thanks. I remember our beautiful beaches when I'm in Europe and they get excited about sunbathing on stones lol! Best beaches in the world here. I love the Bondi to Coogee walk. Thanks for the follow I've followed back

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

I like it I vote you

thank you so much. Glad you liked it

amazing photos and place thanks for sharing

Thanks - yes I'm glad I live in this part of the world.. so pretty!

Great to see more Aussies posting Go #teamaustralia

It sure is.. more and more coming everyday.. if they can get through the waiting list lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48