Colours and a cuppa for @galenkp's mother in law

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

galenmilgetwellsooncover.jpg

@galenkp recently wrote about planning a trip with his mother in law who is currently undergoing chemo. I said in a comment on that post that I would do a skinhead mohawk for her (the mohawk is my normal hair, the skinhead version is only done for special events) and asked what her favourite colours were.

Then got a friend who is a hairdresser to have some fun with my hair.

Then made a get-well card.

galenmilgetwellsoon.jpg

I'm going to make @galenkp 100% beneficiary of this thing, I don't exactly get the most useful post payouts but maybe he can use it to contribute to a cup of beverage of choice for mother in law or something XD

  • when we confirmed I was going skinhead, friend touched my head with the clippers, winced and fliched the clippers away, asked if I was really sure, and then buzzed the fuzz off XD
  • friend's partner and mine thought it was green and gold and that I was being patriotic XD
  • my friend and her daughter apparently had epic arguments in the shop about the hair colours, "But these ones are brighter!" "But these ones blend better!" would have been hilarious to witness XD daughter ended up winning and I think she picked pretty well :)

I am freaking useless at tagging I can't even seriously

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | steemartists

sig

-={ commission info | ko-fi | patreon }=-

The steemaroo divider is free to use. Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

You wear a Mohawk so much better than I ever could! What an innovative way to put a smile on someone's face.

Posted using Partiko Android

LoL thanks! XD Have you tried wearing a mohawk? :D I'm really glad I was able to make her smile ^_^

In all honesty, I haven't, but I tried short once and with glasses it just didn't give the look I expected. It was okay when I took my glasses off, but that could have been because I could no longer see properly! 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

LoL! It probably wasn't as bad as you thought :D

We'll take every rare Fyn sighting we can get! That trim looks great, and the colors really pop! Nice of you to this for a fellow Steemian, MATE-r Theresa. To show support, I'll vote 100% on all of @galenkp's current open posts. I hate cancer, and no one deserves to be inflicted by it.

The only problem with this pattern is if I ever decide to do shenanigans comics as it’s asymmetrical 🤣 I should get my arse in gear actually as I have two to do now; one really should have been done back home but my sp4 was being a brat and now that I’m back on the mainland and thought I’d worked out all this term’s logistics something major changed 🙄

Aw thanks matey, you’re awesome 😄

Mate-r Theresa 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @ryivhnn this is pretty cool! I happen to be at my mother in-law's right now so I showed her. She thinks it's such a nice gesture considering you don't know her.

My mother in-law is such a pragmatic person and has been a bit of a trooper with the chemo despite it being pretty hectic. It was good to see a smile on her face so thank you!

Yay mission accomplished 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is pretty awesome of you, fyn :D. What a great and unique way to show your support. I’m glad the reception is positive as well. The colours are great imo, good job on your daughter.

It was the hairdresser’s daughter that picked the colours, think a pretty good job was done all around 😁 I’m really glad the reception was positive too 😆 thanks 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Class colours for your hair. I always like to see something a bit different and hair can be done in so many ways. Nice gesture as well towards galenkp and his mother.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks 😄 yep hair can be arty too 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

This fits in perfectly with that Godzilla movie that I just finished watching. Just kidding... I read about 'toxic radioactive' green in one of your replies to a comment :>)

I added a droppa to the cuppa and I think you're awesome but you know that by now. One thing I can't wrap my head around though is how your hairdo seems to be the total opposite of what I'd expect from your behavior ( online ). haha! I guess looks do often deceive ;>)

RAWR! XD

Thank you for the drop :D And naww ^_^

Am I not punk enough? LoL XD Just out of curiousity what did you expect? :D

I am merely talking about the me from the past, the current me knew about the mohawk. And hey, I love contrast. It’s what makes life so freaking interesting :>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

That hair is epic!

Thanks! :D

That's sweet to do, and it's a pretty cool look. I'm pretty boring with my hair, but I love colour in my artworks, sometimes :)

I hope the recipient is happy with smiles and some crypto as well. And on the mend as well.

Thanks! Apparently got smiles and hopefully there will be enough for most of a cuppa by post payout :D

Love the hair and am contributing a couple pennies to the cuppa!

Thanks! 😄 ooh if things go good he might be able to get most of a cuppa now 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, the hair is awesome!! You should keep it like that!

Thanks 😆 the Mohawk is always there, I usually have a number 1 on the sides 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82