My last week in brief - part 1

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

Friday I drove from Adelaide to Melbourne via Bendigo to avoid at least some of the extra traffic the Adelaide Crows fans (and a couple of Richmond Tigers fans from SA) were causing. Long, slow, and uneventful. Would have stopped to take a picture of the Welcome to Victoria sign, but there were too many Crows fans either taking pictures or adding to the stickers and scarves that were starting to cover it (almost like they knew they wouldn't be needed later!)

Welcome to Victoria - Crows....jpg
It wasn't this sign, which I found through google image search, but it was similar but with a big crow over the 'i' in Victoria

Saturday I was recovering from the drive, along with suffering from a belly ache and nausea (only vomited once...) thanks to (most likely) the stuffed potato cake (I missed the name of it, but 2 thin slices of potato, with cheese, ham and mashed potato between them, then battered and deep fried), or possibly the bag of lollies. My friend I'm staying with and I watched the AFL Grand Final from the comfort of home. Was a decent game, but would have been better if I didn't feel awful.

Sunday I drove out to Ballarat to catch up with a friend from High School that I became friends with again nearly 20 years later. It was a nice day seeing how their house renovations have been going, eating lunch at their favourite cafe (Knife, Fork, Spoon), and taking the greyhound for a walk down at the lake. It was however a day with quite a bit of driving and I wasn't 100% after the stomach complaints of Saturday.

Vietnamese Chicken Salad.jpg
Vietnamese Chicken Salad. Pretty good and just what my stomach ordered. Needed less bean shoots, and more chilli

First Image Source: Ben Thomas' Twitter Post

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats.png

Sort:  

"almost like they knew they wouldn't be needed later!" Love it! Go tiges! :)

That chicken salad looks pretty good! (aside from still not understanding why there would be meat in a salad but I have long since accepted that there are many things I will likely never understand XD) Ergh that gutsache sounds pretty rough, you sure more chilli is a good idea after that? Hope you're feeling better now :)

At the time I was quite happy it wasn't more chilli for just that reasoning, however if I'd been healthy I'd have liked more heat.

I like meat in my salads to some extent. It certainly can't be the main volume of the plate, or then it's meat with some salad. But then I grew up with bacon in my potato salads, and possibly bacon or ham in the pasta salad, though that was weird unless it was hot pasta salad. And Chicken caeser salad. So it's probably just that you didn't grow up with meat in salads that makes it strange to you. Thai beef salads are some of my favourites though.

So it's probably just that you didn't grow up with meat in salads that makes it strange to you

Would have to ask Sprat, I don't recall there being much in the way of meat in salads even to this day so that's probably it :)

Having said that I have put meat in salads in the past when I couldn't be bothered making individual snack boxes for the kids but needed something that was going to fill their bottomless stomachs for at least a couple of hours when we were heading out for a day trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63