A beautiful soul, not diminished but enhanced by ASD!

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

So as some of you will know I've been introducing my kiddos from youngest to oldest. Just a little snippet of how they fill my life with love and laughter.

So this brings us to Master 6.

IMG_1212.PNG

I've been trying to write this post for a couple of days now and I keep deleting it and starting again.

I in no way want people to think that we feel sorry for him or ourselves. I also don't want people to put him in a box and label him as different. Because everyone is different, every person is unique. Everyone will have challenges, it's just for some the challenges they face are visible to the outside world and for many the challenges are hidden from view.

IMG_1218.PNG

As a member of our family Master 6 is just the same as the others. We love him just the same, we discipline him just the same. The only difference is Master 6 has autism.

IMG_1219.PNG

This makes parenting him a challenge and a blessing. It's not always easy and there have been many nights spent stressing over the events of the past day. Had we done what was best, could we do better. How do we do better. Many nights have also been spent asking ourselves those same questions in relation to all our children.

I think every parent asks themselves if they are doing it right. Our children don't come with a user manual outlining exactly how to handle every situation.

IMG_1216.PNG

We made the choice to treat him exactly as we do the others. He has to eat his vegetables, we just had to chop and change what we served, as like many autistic children he has some major food aversion. So while my others might not really like beans, Master 6 would literally starve and still not eat them.

IMG_1217.PNG

We make him do his chores, again we have to find things he can manage and only in short burst as he has severely undertoned muscles and gets fatigued very quickly.

IMG_1220.PNG

We also respect the limit of his abilities, just as we do our other children. You have to learn when to push and when to hold back. When to request more of an effort from them and when to see the signs that they have given it there all and have nothing left.

IMG_1215.PNG

Master 6 was and still is quite. He goes through periods of selective mutism, and as a baby and small child didn't speak at all. As he has gotten older the periods of silence have become less frequent and now only under times of stress ie: a new environment, new person or major change in routine. He retreats into his world of silence to feel calm and safe and in control.

IMG_1213.PNG

He has a trademark gesture of holding his two thumbs up. It is his go to response for a multitude of questions and situations. When meeting new people I can tell immediately if he is willing to speak. Two thumbs up means I may talk to you in an hour or so when I'm more comfortable, hiding behind mums leg means I'm done talking for the day.

When starting school I was so nervous for him. However he surprised me. He lives in his own world and was happy to remain there at school. His teachers have all been fantastic. They allow him to move about and remain silent when he fells the need. This has created an environment where he feels safe and he participates more and more.

IMG_1211.PNG

They have had to adjust for him, just like they have every student. Some need more help reading, some with math. Master 6 just needs to be in his own world, as they have learnt he is still listening and learning even though he is constantly sensory seeking. His grades have never been an issue. I wish we could say the same for fine motor skills, this is an area he like many 6 year olds, needs a lot of assistance.

IMG_1224.PNG

He also unfortunately, has a very high pain thrash hold. Add to that his need to go mute makes it very hard to tell when he is actually hurt. Case and point, a broken arm that nearly went undetected. If it wasn't for an involuntary wince in his sleep when we moved him he could have ended up needing surgery for the severe break.

IMG_1214.PNG

Master 6 lives his life on his own terms. In some respects ASD has been a gift. He sees the world from a different perspective. He has shown me a new way of living. He has taught me that no one should just be a sheep in the herd.

IMG_1209.PNG

He has taught me to respect the differences in all my children, not just him and in doing so changed the way I parent for the better.

He is a sensitive, kind and beautiful child. He has brought a smile to my face everyday just in his mere existence. He has touched so many people with his gentle spirt and caring soul.

IMG_1210.PNG

In a family full of loud and crazy characters, he is the quiet calm that brings us so much joy.

I am so grateful he is my child and I am one very lucky mumofmany.

Sort:  

Master 6 is a beautiful , talented and wonderful child . You @mumofmany is a real example of your name but has to add great to it: Great Mum of many. You are doing a good job with master 6 (who will do great in life) and the rest of your children. Your post is a teaching and inspiration to us : to make the best out of any situation and thus turn it to a success story. I do not have much money but you have earned my respect, upvote and following. I will certainly keep in touch and thus, send in my support.

Thank you very much. It means so much to me. I truly hope by sharing people will see that children with ASD are the same as everyone else, they just have there own special uniqueness as do we all.

You are welcome and your post will surely touch many minds.

Beautiful happy child. He is a blessing to you.

Thank you, he is indeed.

Congratulations on your beautiful family.

Thank you for sharing your insights on your sweet little boy. You did a wonderful job at getting across the unique beauty that he brings to your family. Your deep love for him leaps of the page. Your many are also lucky to have a mama like you!

Great, heartwarming post. Up'd and resteemed.

No worries, thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ausbitbank from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Very interesting and beautifully written.
Happy child!

You are lucky to be a mom to Master 6. My son's friend has autism and now he's all grown up. But his parents never treated him any different from their other children.

He has his own circle of friends he is happy with. He is one of the happiest kids I know. He smiles and laughs a lot. He spends a lot of time by himself staring at the trees or out of the window. His parents give him the space he needs.

I think it has a lot to do with how the parents treat the child. Your son is lucky to have parents like you and you are lucky to have him, as you get to celebrate every small thing he does - things that we generally take for granted.

Loved seeing your little boy's pictures. You're surely one lucky mumofmany. :)

I always wanted 4 kids. That was the number I had in mind when I got married. Well.. that didn't happen, but I have one who means the world to me.

Thank you, very kind words. I am very lucky to be his mother. I always wanted kids, I just got extra lucky. I have a beautiful friend who also wanted more children, she was blessed with one and the love she gives that child is immense! I'm sure you are the same.

Beautiful. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81