Follow up: Melbourne Icons During the DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

I received a lot of positive feedback on my last post about Melbourne at night, so here is a follow-up. Melbourne CAN be beautiful during the day as well. For a few minutes at a time at least :)

We have some iconic buildings, be they for their architectural or social impact. I went for a stroll one day and tried to capture a few of these. Here are 4 of my favorites.

Melbourne icons day-14.jpg
Luna Park is a weird Melbourne icon. We all know it's there, we all love it and we would hate to lose it, but most of us have never been. I've never set foot inside the place. Maybe I should...

Melbourne icons day-15.jpg
I mentioned in one of my posts recently that I am a drummer and I spent many years as a younger man pursuing the dream of "making it" in music. Well this is the Esplenade Hotel, one of Melbourne's most treasured live music pub venues and a building that has hosted many hours of my misspent youth.

Melbourne icons day-17.jpg
Across the road from the Espy is Catani Gardens. A mate and I once came this close - holds fingers precisely one bee's dick apart - to putting on a music festival here. We had council approval and everything. Our financial backer got cold feet at the last minute.

Melbourne icons day-32.jpg
I'm finishing with Southern Cross Station. I showed an internal shot of this in my last post, but it's just so beautiful from every angle. Just inside the station you can see the clock from the original station building. So impressive :)

Sort:  

Spent a bit of time at Luna Park as a kid in the 80s. Living in Windsor helped. Been past it many times lately, and its busy, at least on weekends. Haven't been there myself though. Like you say, wouldn't want to lose it.

Probably spent more time at the Espy since those days :). Until it closed, anyway.

Windsor would have been a great place to live in the 80s!
The Espy has been sold now and the new owners say they're going to keep the live music going, so there's still hope :)

It was a very multicultural place back then. I'm glad I grew up there, absolutely. It's a very different place now. Mostly because of the price of real estate! But its still a nice area. As for Espy, yes I heard that about it. We'll see what happens.

Well done @markfitzgerald. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Melbourne-Australia!13 592 km away from here!But beautiful enough to makes you fly there!(at least my desire)one day

That's a long way - you must live in Geelong. A little Melbourne humour there :)

Be careful when you come here, @achilleas, Melbourne seems to make people want to stay :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34