You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day I Became An Individualist

I posted about this memory intentionally as it had an effect on me as an adult. The real meaning of the post to me is, I think that people down play the "meta" nature of what they learned (or experienced) followed by how they process and act on it later.

Learning to "share" or learning to "respect other peoples property" (I'm suggesting) has ramifications for how we feel about the right to own private property or whether we should redistribute wealth. The weaker child after this experience will feel entitlement towards other peoples property.

There should be toys for sharing with other children that are visiting, or with siblings, BUT if they child has something very special to them, they should be able to keep that toy in a special safe spot where nobody else is allowed to access it.

I agree with this that sharing (especially within the family & close friends) should be something that a child learns, but not for the sake of sharing. Rather I think kids should learn benevolence or why sharing is fulfilling, especially in the situations you described over "automatic sharing" coupled with respect for other peoples autonomy. I strongly feel that this can not be achieved in kindergarten, child care or school (caveat: without major re thinking of these institutions).

There should be toys for sharing with other children that are visiting, or with siblings, BUT if they child has something very special to them, they should be able to keep that toy in a special safe spot where nobody else is allowed to access it.

I think this is a good point, and if I was to try and extrapolate that out to adult behaviour, we might be able to say that this is an indication of our future ideas on how we look after our things; how we consume things etc. Recently I have discovered something special to me, and now I have a special safe spot for metals ;) I still have the mentality of a 5 year old.

Thanks for your comment, you were one of the first people who interacted and provided encouragement when I first started on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41