It's getting to the point

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Where I am no fun anymore

Famous words from a song by Crosby Stills and Nash

Underrated by all modern yardsticks but still (no pun intended) one of the best pieces of music ever written. In my eyes the song is a masterpiece that rivals the brilliance of composers like Back and Mozart with the added dimension of lyrical harmony as a stand in for the array of instrumental diversity used in the classics.

Anyway, I'm starting to think the gig might be up here. Most of the regulars that were here when I joined have left and the place has separated into several groups, those who do well and those who don't. I'm somewhere between both groups not in the clique with the in crowd to any significant degree but never the less doing much better than many.

These days my posts are lucky to crack 30 cents which isn't so bad but there's almost no social engagement here, I write a big long post and hardly anyone responds. I reply to other peoples posts and don't get much feedback or upvotes even though I upvote everyone that replies to me. I'm not a fucking idiot, I know most people save their upvotes for something that will pay so it's a bit silly to waste one on me. I've even started to look for posts to upvote where there will be a good return rather than voting for stuff the really interests me but that's just encouraging shit to proliferate.

I don't think I can keep posting or commenting here if I'm not going to get any engagement. I know it's nothing personal, it's just economics and return on investment. So with that in mind I'll probably just delegate my dismal holdings and hope the price picks up enough to ditch them.

Anyway here's the song I wrote about before my drunken rant, it's not my favourite version of the song or even the best rendition of it I've ever heard but they do a good job and the way the manipulate the acoustics is fucking awesome but they never got the recognition their effort deserved while untalented halfwits prospered (I"m thinking Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus here amongst others), so it seems like a good way to end my rant.

Adios Amigos

Sort:  

My vote made it $0.30!!!!!! lol

I haven't heard that before, wow great song, I couldn't listen to that version though, so I went and found the original.

That's good to see your vote got me to my 30 cent goal. It was a lofty ambition by that just goes to show what can happen when you drink 750ml of Vodka and set your mind on something :)

I love the original version too, they made an awesome trio back in those days before the split. The harmonies were amazing.

I like some of the cover versions almost as much, some people have done some excellent renditions over the years. Michael Hedges did an awesome solo live rendition.

One of my favourite renditions was from Josh Turner and his mates. Myles Pinder doesn't need a guitar because his voice is an instrument in its own right.

I wonder if the neighbors called the cops. Keeping the puns alive, keep your chin-up. I'm not sure if you're in a position to or not, but meeting some Steemians in person really helps press the reset button on frustration and refocuses on the people you do connect with. Are you anywhere near @thevillan's group meetups in Adelaide? They look out for each other too with rewards since they're well networked and friends now.

No I'm nowhere near Adelaide Matt, they"re about 1200 kms away as the crow flies and a lot longer by road. We did have a few steemians a bit closer a while ago but they seem to have drifted away over the last few months.

Second comment - also I don't know why, oh yes I do (Steemit's feed system is terrible), but your posts never really seem visible in my main feed. Like with most people, I have to manually search for them, and that's most frustrating because I can't simply be presented the content of the people I follow efficiently. The sorting algorithm or something is just off.

I've had you on my autovoter for a few weeks now, but it's not always active when hits a certain % to pause and recharge.

I'm getting that happen to me quite a bit lately too, I seem to miss a lot of people's posts in my feed. They made all that noise about having to lay off developers here recently but in the time when they still had them not much changed. The site has remained in beta seemingly without any functional changes since I joined over a year ago.

The only real changes I see are ads and they even seem to be tailored to me like google or amazon style profile building scenarios with personalised ads.

Yes I have noticed things changing a lot here since I joined just over a year ago. Hope it gets better for you here mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

I echo your sentiments about Steem and the other blockchains. The main emphasis seems to be on getting Steem coins using whatever it takes, presumably bots. I didn't post for about 2 months and my Steem account seemed to disintegrate and my upvote is worthless. It is possible to advertise on Discord but even that avenue is overused. Thanks for reading my posts though.

Congratulations @khufu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74