Freewrite: Where Does The Time Go?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

hope you're having fun.jpg

I'd planned a long post for today. But before I knew it the day had trickled away.

Eight hours at work. Up bright and early, before the sun. It's a hot sun, one that teases its merciless heat before summer. As if to say don't test me with anymore of your smoke and fumes and cold machines..

Thirty minutes on the freeway. I curse at roadworks and only miss how fast I was going when I slow down. Life is like that, too. You never realise how quickly it has flown by until you slow down for a bit, or reach a rough patch and start reflecting and pondering. All experiences are so vastly different in retrospect.

Forty minutes home. I call into my other work to pick up something I'd forgotten (probably due to a lack of time beforehand), say hi, bye and leave.

I duck my head into my Grandparent's house like I do each Tuesday for a coffee. A coffee turns into planting corn, and shovelling dirt for my Nanna quickly. The spring air is fresh, warm and smells like distant barbecues.

I cook dinner, catch up on some YouTube, scan the news every now and again, check Steemit a few times, and do the dishes. Grunting, the blender makes me breakfast for tomorrow: banana, mango, milo and oat smoothie. I jump into the shower and wash the day away. Shower thoughts come and go, like they always do.

I check my phone: 36 days. So far yet close.

The horizon lights up like a black and white horror film. Crying, the dog won't rest. Although thankful for the rain, I just want quiet. Before I know it, the thunder and lightning has drifted away. The room is silent and content; I'm sleepy and tomorrow lingers somewhere on the tip of my tongue.

Another day has trickled away.

~

I hope your day was well, dear reader. Goodnight.

Sort:  

What's happening in 36 days?

What he said.

Sorry - I could've specified. I'm finally going on an overdue holiday, expect lots of posts from it!

Ah, nice. Enjoy.

So glad you got a bit of rain from that last storm. It seems so long ago now though.

You write so descriptively, I'm looking forward to the holiday posts!

It was only a trickle :( better than nothing, I spose'. I've got buckets in my hand-sink and shower now, to collect a few litres here or there for the lawn. I've hooked up the grey water again, too. Each bit counts.

Thanks! :)

That's a shame. We actually got a good soak, but it's back to watering again. Certainly waste not want not with the water. I really ought to devise a better way of getting grey water to the lawns.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jordan.white306 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80