Have you made a Rag Rug before?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hey Steemians! So this is a little weird but I'm really into rag-rugging at the moment and I thought I'd show you my progress. For those uninitiated into the rag-rugging world, I am basically making a rug from rags. Actually, they are old sheets that I've been buying from the op-shop so close enough. My best friend had been making her own rag rug for awhile and I figured I'd give it a go. At the very least I thought it would be something to do when I'm at home watching Netflix (Blacklist anyone?)

My bestie and I organised a craft night where we drank wine, ate Indian food and she taught me how to make a rag rug. It's so easy!

This is my pile of rags and my friends completed rug in the background.

I found it a little tricky to get started, with some sections too tight and then trying to correct it and making other sections too loose.

At the moment, it's probably about 1m in diameter and I am hoping to get it up to a 2m diameter.

Any colour suggestions?? I was thinking maybe another white round and then a dark green? I'm a little limited with op shops but I am pretty keen to not contribute to more waste by buying new sheets. Old, used sheets for rugging :)

Have a rad day people!

Sort:  

I always knew you were on rugs..... they look rad!!!

The exciting life I lead haha

What a cool idea! It's looking good... never really thought you could do anything good with old sheets!

Haha it's amazing what you do with old stuff that you would normally throw out/donate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61651.26
ETH 3452.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52