Another Trending page cancer (aka annoying) ecosystem.

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

So , I almost never go to the trending page of youtube but I thought I would do a little experiment to see how many of these videos ( first 3 pages) will I even consider watching.

So out of the 14 videos listed above I would at-least click play on 3 and maybe end up watching 1 video. I consider that to be quite similar to the dismal results (or maybe even worse) on STEEMIT trending page.

What can we conclude from that?

  1. Maybe the answer is not the trending page but the suggestions playlist (and personalized suggestion) and that's what STEEM UIs should focus on , it is quite difficult to guess what will be popular with large number of people.

Unless.

2.We move to 1 account -1 vote like Reddit , as whenever I go to the Reddit feed my click through rate is much higher. No matter how much we bitch and moan 1 account -1 vote seems to be the best way to curate . We may not want the best way to curate , that's a different story.
One bottomline reason can be - hey !! we need investors to fund this shabang and we got to give them some incentive , so fine , let's not opt for the best possible way to curate but maybe a combination of point 1 above and SMTs+Oracles ( if they ever go live !!)

Also tell me how many would you consider even clicking from the trending page !!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71