Steem Wallet - Should there be a change in us viewing others Wallet's ?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hello my steemian friends I want to talk to you today about steem wallet, and whether or not we should be allowed to look into others. I know we certainly have all done it ( myself included) so please don't feel bad or judgemental that I am suggesting we could change it, it's just something that has been playing on my mind. I mean for example there is no way in the world ( someone with some morals that is...lol) would look into a friends or another person's bank account/real wallet in real life if they opportunity was there. I feel like most people would see this as odd or rude if we inquired about looking into one anothers wallet to see how much money they had. For me ( and I get I might be sounding like a hypocrite whilst saying this as I have done it ) But for me it's the same with steem, I mean sure it's interesting and great to see how much someone has earnt or is earning but I feel it lacks privacy and confidentiality as well.

download.jpg

wallet4_1024x1024.jpg

Don't get me wrong, I love this website, I love what it does to people, I love the community! But surely there should be some limit on how we can see into others wallets ? Surely there is a form of privacy that needs to be addressed, and surely people wouldn't want everyone looking into their wallets. I think this is an issue that needs to be addressed and for someone who is in charge or in control to do something about it. Feel free to leave a comment or resteem to get this message out there/whether you disagree or agree with what I am trying to say :)

Keep on steeming everyone

Henry

Sort:  

Its an open, public ledger. Should be visible for all, to help maintain transparency. :)

hmm yeah fair enough, good call man! I was just a bit unsure as there is a possibility of potential stolen wallets etc

You can't really steal a wallet as you can't access the password section of other people's accounts.
There are phishing scams here, in the terms of bots, etc. but the idea is to NEVER give anyone your keys.

Checking against someone's wallet can be a way of seeing how legit their argument is.
It's like checking someone's reputation or how long they have been on the platform.

For example, if I were to tell you that I am a 'whale' on this platform, a quick search of my wallet and even my reputation number will tell you that this is a lie, and you can dismiss anything that I am talking about.

If I claim to no use bidbots, you can see clearly in my wallet whether or not I am telling the truth.

I have found that checking my friend's wallets and even their statistics that it's given me a little bit more hope for the platform.

I would keep because I like to compare myself with other users and kinda predict what their upvote would be. I don't know, I check it quite often, especially with upvote bots.

Yeah fair enough man, everyone is entitled to their opinion and comparing is certainly something that we all do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94