Stand up Comedy and how it helps my mental health :)

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

As many of you are aware I am in fact a stand up comedian and do enjoy telling jokes on a regular basis down at my local comedy place. I perform reguarly at open mics at the Rhino Room here in Adelaide on Monday's as well as the Crown and Anchor hotel, every known again on a Tuesday. I find that comedy is a fantastic outlet for me as it is like a therapist, except there not actually there, your just talking to a crowd who thrives off your jokes and enjoys your stage presence. As I have posted in previous posts, I am more or less an awkward comedian but also someone who has a great stage persona.

34504484_2253553474655571_5385398967775264768_o.jpg

I find that doing comedy really helps me with my mental health and helps me enlighten my mood on a day to day basis, as I have gathered so many wonderful friends through the community. You can almost apply it to steemit as well, I was very fortunate to part take in a face to face meeting last week through @teamaustralia and @mattclarke and I was able to meet everyone there face to face and have a laugh and a beer. The great thing about comedy and having a passion as well allows you to be able to join a community full of people who are interconnected through a passion and this allows us to enjoy life a lot more :)

34441784_2253553291322256_7054483714960523264_o.jpg

I know it may seem like a really daring thing to do and it certainly is to an extent as you are putting yourself out there and on a stage in front of people, but for me it is actually something I thrive off. I love the adrenaline it gives you and I love the satisfaction you get when you get an audience to laugh with you and enjoy your performance as well as you enjoying it as well...it's a community and something I think is really important to be grateful for. I know I post about all this stuff a fair bit, but sometimes it's important to rectify your passions and hobbies as well as the friends you have made through it and celebrate the community you have among you :)

I would love to hear about anyone else's passions and communities they are apart of and how this has helped there life :) Feel free to comment below

Henry

Sort:  

I have often considered doing stand up comedy, but I have massive stage fright and various social anxiety disorders. I guess getting up on stage and talking about stuff can help.

Thank you for posting this.

No worries at all, comedy is a great way of combating mental health and helping you grow as a person, definitely work a crack :)

Nerve wracking but I need to give it a go.

Cool, I didn't know they do comedy at the Cranker. I should check it out and one night.

Check out the comedy open mic tag here on steemit - lots of comedy about!

No worries mate, thanks heaps will do!

A friend went to see a standup in Adelaide a couple of weeks ago.
His entire act was written for him by his girlfriend, and his first time reading it was up on stage, on the night.
Pretty cool setup, right? Delivering unknown material?
Plot thickens, she'd found out he'd been sexting this other girl; so wrote it as his confession and apology. Madness.
Video here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67120.19
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72