HOW I GOT INTO SMOKING - HOW I QUIT- AND HOW YOU CAN DO IT TO!

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hey steemians hope that everyone is doing well and life is treating you great, I want to share with you something that has been on my mind for a while and I feel I might be able to offer some inspiration and help to people. Even though I knew the consequences and the damage of smoking, I still did it for a number of years, mainly as I saw it as a mechanism to help me relieve my stress and anxiety. I found that when I smoked I would feel more relaxed about things and I enjoyed the taste of it as well. I started smoking when I went out drinking with friends and eventually, it became quite habitual for me sober and during the day. Although I knew the obvious signs of how bad it was for you and was educated in this way, I still did it as a coping mechanism and tried to ignore the dangers and signs as silly as that sounds. However I feel like many people are in that same position, they may have started out smoking whilst with friends whilst drinking or doing other activities and eventually became accustomed to it and allowed it to be apart of their lives.

smoking-one-cigarette.jpg

For years I smoked I would say around 6 or so years and it would be in patches too, I would binge smoke on the weekends and when I was really bad I would smoke during the week. I really did see it as a tool for me to escape uncomfortable feelings of depression or anxiety as well as the constant stresses of society. About 5 or so years ago I tried to quit it by purchasing nicorette gum and this actually really helped. Although there was huge withdrawal affects and feelings of addiction, I think the gum really helped, however I only really stopped smoking for this short period of time as in a few months after I began doing it again.

o-PEOPLE-SMOKING-CIGARETTES-facebook.jpg

I noticed that last year when I was still doing it on weekends as well as the start of this year as well, that I had developed a cough and thought it was definitely because of my smoking. I found that on Sunday's after I had smoked on Saturday nights I would be coughing quite a bit as well as feeling hungover. I think that I do feel a huge sense of regret for smoking for so long but I want to let you know that it is certainly possible to quit.

quit-job.jpg

I had my first cigaraette in months two weeks ago on the weekend and I didn't even like it at all. I slowly cut back and now I no longer want to do it at all, I'm not sure why exactly or how exactly I did it, but I do know that it is well and truly possible if you are willing to make the change. It's like anything if your willing to put in the hard yards and make the change in your life and not rely on others than you will see the rewards. For me something like giving up smoking is pivotal as it obviously affects your health and if anyone at all needs any support in this way, to please let me know as I would love to help them :)

help-and-support.png

I hope that this post has inspired at least one person to quit cause I can tell you that from the bottom of my heart it truly is worth it. Although it may seem hard and painful it certainly is rewarding knowing you are saving your life!

Hope everyone is going great and this has inspired you :)

Henry

Sort:  

I think it can be about breaking certain thinking habits, or associations with smoking (like drinking, or if you're stressed out- you should see the ashtrays outside of the Alcoholics Anonymous meetings) too.

Time away from smoking will lead you to get your sense of smell back.
And the smell of cigarettes isn't pleasant.

yeah that's one of the reasons how I got through it as well, just by trying to cut out habits like drinking and focusing on other things in life.

The smell is gross

Henry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72