Are selfies taking over the internet and our lives ?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hello my fellow steemians hope everyone is having a great start to the week, thought I would post about something that I find amusing and also really interesting. I think it's fascinating that we are all so caught up with a phase ( if you could call it that) or a part of life about taking selfies of ourselves and then placing them on the internet. Here is a really hot one of me............... great pose.......................lol

IMG_0154[1].JPG

But I think we often tend to get so caught up with this phase of life and this way we are all going about ourselves by constantly taking photos of ourselves and putting them online. Whether this is a good or bad thing I am not really sure to be honest, I guess there are plenty of positives that we can take out of it, like the fact that people like our photos or follow us more on instagram or other social media platforms. But I also think there might be some kind of negative side to it, I think the question remains are we becoming to self concerned and is this just a coping mechanism via the amount of likes we get on social media to keep going with selfies ? Don't get me wrong I think they are great and do enlighten us but are we getting to the point where we are doing this in every instant of lives and slowly the photos and technologies are taking over our lives.

5a54008e3225de7d018b51d4-750-563.jpg

I'm not sure it's healthy for us to do this all the time like many of us do, and I'm not sure if it is healthy for us to continue to compare ourselves on a daily basis on how other people look and what other people are doing. For instance when I see people are travelling all the time, whether that be friends or colleagues I sometimes feel a bit left out and feel like I am the only one who hasn't been able to save up enough to do travel, and that I am missing out on a world of fun. I think it's similar to how we may perceive we look and compare to others, not me personally but I think there would be a lot to say for a lot of people who compare themselves on a regular basis on how they look online in comparison to others and with the rate that we are going at with social media booming and the world growing faster and faster, I'm not sure whether this is great for our well-being.

download (6).jpg

I may sound like I am really going on a negative approach with this, but I am in no mean saying that everyone should give selfies or social media up at all, I just think ( and myself included as I use it all the time), sometimes I just think we do tend to over use it. In particular in social situations which we don't really need to like when we are out with family or friends and are constantly texting, social messaging or taking photos on our phones. Or is this just the way our lives are going and we all need to adapt to this ? I'm not really sure to be honest, and I think it's a point we should address in the future or in the present. I know I may sound like a hypocrite as I have said that it is important to keep active on steemit in order to be succesful ( in previous posts), but I also think it is important to limit ourselves on just how much we use technology and maybe just being in the moment can help our well being :)

Although this post may not flow that well, I hope you understand the point I am trying to make and I am in no way saying it is right or wrong at all :)

Hope everyone is doing great

Henry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79