Diversity Scholoarships

I had a meeting today with the Uni of QLD discussing a few things, and the professor I was chatting with was telling me about how Rio Tinto donate $500,000 to the uni each year.

Of that, about $100,000 is for Indigenous support in the Engineering sector. But what Rio didn't realize, was that each year there is on average only 1 Aboriginal student accepted into the engineering degrees.

So for a university that relies so heavily on corporate sponsorship, $100,000 per year goes basically towards a warm and fuzzy feeling in their PR department. It doesn't actually support anyone, or the greater good.

Once again, we are looking at reverse racism.

So I've designed a scholorship that I'm going to launch. It is only for White Anglo-saxon Christian Males. I'm sure no one would complain would they? No one would call it racist or un PC would they?

gohba.handcrafts01.png

Note: Yes I'm taking the piss with that last statement. Just proving a point.

Sort:  

Terrible comment.

Great comment.

That's definitely a failure on Rio Tinto's part. They should be checking to ensure their donation is actually resulting in positive change.

A company that I worked with some time ago actually would collect data to demonstrate that their spending on Indigenous programs actually was resulting in positive change. It was the one respectable thing that they did.

I totally get the reverse racism comment however also fully support programs that are designed to close the gap on education and poverty in our communities.

It's a complex issue as I'm sure you're aware.

I suppose I would like to know what the other $400K was being used for.

Is it being utilised to assist other programs to help bridge the gap in any way?

Surely they would have to justify where the money is going to an extent?

Correct, the other grants are going towards women in engineering and geo engineering departments.

This PC SJW stuff is ruining us and the concepts of merit and hard work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98