DIY Update - Wheel Restoration

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

Hi Steemians,

Just thought I'd post a follow on from my wheel resto post, just so everyone can check out the finished product, and how it looks on the vehicle. As you can see they have that "wet look" with is essentially just the clear coat sprayed on top of the silver colour. You can use a spray can to achieve it, or you can be a bit more professional and use a compressor and a spray gun, for first timers use spray cans as it's easier to work with (no mixing of paints etc).

side.jpg

I actually did the wheels on my ute with spray cans, it will cost you about $40 in materials (2 cans of silver acrylic and 2 cans of clear)

ute1.jpg

Remember they are wheels... in a week they might be scratched, chipped etc, so I see a lot of posts out there where guys go all out, completely sanding the wheels back to metal, priming,repainting etc... it's over kill. A light rub down, coat of silver and then a few coats of clear will take you under 2 hours for all four wheels and achieve a good result.

sheels2.jpg

Anyone in the Perth area who needs a hand doing their wheels, just comment below and I will gladly come out and help you with the process. This is Steem, we help each other.

Ciao for Now

Sort:  

Holy manoley! What is that blue ute? I am confused - since this looks like EU-Ford Taunus based or is it?

For more of my automotive thoughts, see my blog.

Ford XG XR6 4.0 litre (Australia)
Thanks @quattrolite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60637.39
ETH 2405.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59