4 Months on Steemit - a reintroduction

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians,

This is my introduction post for Team Australia and I guess a reintroduction after 4 months on Steemit.


I joined Steemit in September 2017 after applying for an account in April and not getting a confirmation then finally buying one through anon.steem .

I'm still a bit salty about it because it could have given me a head start. But anyway I made it in the end. I have a few friends who had the same problem but they gave up instead, so maybe that is more common than you would think and it's an obstacle for Steemit to grow faster. (Has anyone looked into that?)


I'm originally from Germany and I relocated to Australia with my family seven years ago, I don't know if that qualifies for joining Team Australia but it's my only option as joining Team Germany is useless, they are all asleep when I'm awake. I live in Byron Bay with my hubby and our two daughters live in Melbourne. So we're going to and fro all the time.

I'm an architect but dab into everything creative and was looking for a new platform to connect with people as I didn't really thrive on Instagram or YouTube.
I paint, I do street art, I illustrate I write and also play guitar, sing and write my own songs. Every few months I come up with a new creative outlet and I have tried (and failed;) a lot of things.


But what's the use in doing those things if you don't have an audience? Right?
So I was seeking likeminded people that I could connect with and that would support each other in living a creative life.

And that I did! I just completed eight weeks of the Steemit songwriters challenge and I met the most amazing group of musicians there, we quickly bonded over the weeks and it was so much fun and a pleasure to be part of. I also participate in open mic and some art challenges if the time allows.

Anyway the amount of creativity on this platform is incredible and the community spirit is what makes it all worthwhile. As I live in a place where so many creative people gather but have such a hard time surviving I would like to bring more of the Byron art and music community onto this platform. I'm still figuring out what to do to promote Steemit here.

Hope to get to know more of the Team Australia members and in general more of the awesome people of Steemit.
Oh yeah, Fun Fact: I write steamy (no pun intended) fanfiction just for sh*ts and giggles. NOT on this platform tho!

Lots of Love
Geena


Sort:  

In social networks you can find like-minded people on any interests, but the search takes a very long time. I myself had a case when after the publication of the post it's been two hours and no one responded to my offer.

hello bro Good advice. I would recommend writing posts from the very beginning though. It is always nice to have something to show you when other members visit your blog. It does not have to be long and perfect but showing initiative means a lot to me when I am deciding to follow someone. Steem on!!! bro and enjoy your day @JOHNSTAMPA(27)

Well I have been writing posts since the beginning, 🤔

Hey Geena, welcome to TA, Chrissy and I live in Kingscliff so near your neck of the woods. If there's ever a meetup in Byron count us in!

So good to hear that, but I believe I'm the only one in Byron on Steemit! ;) I'm trying to promote it though. So maybe in the not so distant future. Followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66