AUSTRALIA DAY 2018 🇦🇺

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

7E8FC81E-A3CD-4CD6-9064-3E7745A11856.jpeg
Coin Telegraph

GOOD MORNING STEEMIT,

Being Australia Day 🇦🇺 yesterday, I didn’t get a chance to blog so I’m going to smash a couple out today.

Australia Day is our national day and is used to celebrate modern life in this beautiful country of ours. Here is the top Australia Day blurb from Wikipedia:

Australia Day is the official national day of Australia. Celebrated annually on 26 January, it marks the anniversary of the 1788 arrival of the First Fleet of British ships at Port Jackson, New South Wales and the raising of the Flag of Great Britain at Sydney Cove by Governor Arthur Phillip. In present-day Australia, celebrations reflect the diverse society and landscape of the nation and are marked by community and family events, reflections on Australian history, official community awards.

As a Gen Y, suburban Sydney raised, white male, Australia Day is always used to happily party, have a few drinks, catch up with friends and listen to Triple J’s Hottest 100 music countdown.

But for those of you outside the country who think we’re all happy, chill people down under, you might be surprised to hear that Australia Day has lately copped a lot of political slack domestically.

Unfortunately, people celebrating Australia Day and anything to do with British, colonial heritage has been made to feel like a racist. This year was the first year that I genuinely felt like I needed to keep who I am, and how I actually feel in check to remain respectful.

This of course, isn’t bringing any of us closer to one another as Australians in a functioning society, which at the end of the day in 2017, is all that matters. Australia is a prosperous, accepting, modern nation that can enter an argument as to being the best country to live in, in the world.

Our history made us who we are and we should be proud of who we’ve become as one society, and not divide us further.

If you’re Australian, what do you think? Also if you’re not Australian, what is your opinion of the country? Leave a comment 😎🇦🇺.

I’ll see you again later tonight for a Markets oriented post.

Peace ✌🏻.




Please leave a comment with your ideas or just share a chart.

Blogging about markets is all about sharing ideas and making us see all possible angles. I look forward to having you follow along and reading what you throw at me.

Twitter: @forexbrokr
Instagram: @forexbrokr
Website: www.forexbrokr.com

Sort:  

Australia will always have a special place in my memories.

I found my love in Melbourne and had my dream wedding on the beautiful Sydney harbor.

I got married at Sydney Opera House, and had my wedding party on a sailboat cruising around the magnificent Sydney Harbor.
It was the most memorable and the most beautiful day of my life.

Congratulations on the wedding and I’m glad that my beautiful city provides the perfect backdrop for your day!

thanks :)

We live in Australia for over a year. Australia is a wonderful country and anyone who comes here to live has the opportunity to create a normal life for themselves. Who wants to work can find a job. Schools here take care of the children's wellbeing, the teachers are kind and always with a smile on their face, no one screams at the kids. Life is more relaxed and you have financial security. When I just came here I was shocked wherever you go to the store, doctor, center link, school, people are happy and they want to help you. I love Australia, it is the best country in the world.

🇦🇺💙 Thanks for sharing your experiences. I’m really proud of what we’ve created here and I hope that we continue to work together and not divide ourselves.

Australia is a global anomaly. The Aussie mainland is the world's largest island, and is the only continent to also double as an island. With some of the world's oldest geological features, Australia is also the world's driest continent. I'm not from Australia but really love your country.. One of the country I must visit is Australia

Put it on your list. We’d love to have you for a visit 😎🇦🇺

Personaly I portray Australia as weird clone of USA. You have very strong diplomacy, very good opinion and very demanding life standards. Also I have few friends in Australia. He complains for desolation and slow internet. Hopefuly I'll visit ya Ausees soon!

I’d call us a more common sense version of the USA.

Slow internet is actually a thing though 😂.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54