Impromptu half marathon

Yesterday I received an email from work about "Mental Health Month October" which told everybody to walk or ride to work, because it will make you feel better, I took this as a challenge as I live ~25km from my work...

So, this-morning I got up nice and early at 3:20am, updated a few blog posts, and was out the door by 4:10am.

After the first 10KM of running downhill in almost complete darkness, I made it off of the bike track and onto a road, I could finally see where I was going!!

20171018_051351.jpg

Not much further down the road I made a stop at the petrol station to re-hydrate, which only made things harder as I was then stuck with carrying a bottle whilst trying to run.

For those who know Adelaide, you would be familiar with the roadwork on South Road at the moment, which is an inconvenience for cars, but makes it almost impossible for foot traffic, I spent most of the next 3km running on the road.

The next part was probably the hardest, it was almost 7km of dead straight road with cars and truck whooshing past every few seconds. About half way through this stretch, there was a faint glow on the horizon, finally a sign of daylight!

By the time I came to my turn off from South Road it was almost 6am and the sun was up, but I was so close, with only 6km left to go, I got my second wind and pushed through, the last section of the run was a lot nicer than South Road, I followed the tram corridor, and then ran through the parklands, into the city.

20171018_065523.jpg

When I finally arrived at work I was one of the first there, but it was worth it, it was a great run... and I made it!! :D

20171018_071516.jpg

I'm not ruling out doing this again in the future, however it won't be happening on a work day again, and I'll be spending a few weeks preparing.

Screenshot_20171018-071853.png

*Disclaimer; I didn't last long at work, ended up going home sick after an hour of taking calls, massive headache set in from dehydration... and I had my wife on call, just in-case I gave up :P

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You are really a consistent runner mate! Woke up early, run and then work! wow!
Keep on running!

I won't be doing any running for a few days after that one, I can barely walk :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55