Melbourne Meetup summary, beer review, and story about Aussie Ninja

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

This afternoon we had a Melbourne Meetup at the Great Northern Hotel in Carlton. Unfortunately, bad weather and other commitments kept a few people away so it was just the four of us: @bobaphet, @itstime, @mslillypilly, and myself. We had wide-ranging conversations - from cryptocurrency to archaeology to economics to music - the interesting conversations are the reason I love meeting Steemit people. Check out @bobaphet's channel later tonight for some video content.

20180520_163240.jpg


Beer Review - White Rabbit Pana Chocolate Stout (Ltd Edition)

The Great Northern Hotel is known for their range of beers (21 on tap). Although I am not a big fan of dark beers I was really curious about this one. It is a special limited edition collaboration between Pana Chocolate and White Rabbit Brewery (both from Melbourne). The beer is 5.6% and is also vegan (stouts often aren't due to the use of lactose sugar and milk-based starter cultures). I thought it was delicious. It was not as chocolatey as I expected but also not as heavy as other stouts I have tried, in fact, if I had tried it blindfolded I would not have expected it to be so dark. @mslillypilly was also impressed. In her words, "very flavoursome, not too heavy, with beautiful chocolate undertones".


Source: https://untappd.com/b/white-rabbit-chocolate-stout/2009845


My first visit to the Great Northern Hotel with @aussieninja in 2011

I hadn't been to the Great Northern for nearly 7 years but in 2011 it was the location for post-match drinks following futsal (indoor soccer) matches for a team I played in. I was new to Melbourne and joined a team after responding to a Gumtree ad for a goalkeeper wanted for a friendly social team. The team was captained and managed by none other than @aussieninja. I liked how his advert emphasised having fun (I didn't quite register the hidden message in that). I came along for the first match and played a really good game. I let in two goals but we won 3-2. The team were ecstatic at the win. Really really ecstatic. It was only afterwards that @aussieninja told me they had never won a game before. A few months later @aussieninja went for a trip to America and then decided to make the move permanent - at which point he "gifted" the management of the team to me (if you have never managed a social sports team before, it isn't a gift).


Source: https://www.thehappiesthour.com/venues/melbourne/the-great-northern/

Sort:  

Sorry I couldn't make it mate. I was without transport. :(

Nice addition of the beer review. :)

Personally, I prefer a nice and heavy stout rather than the lighter ones.

four is nice and cozy <3 looks like you all had a wonderful time ! keep up the energy, melbourne steemians !!! <3

Nice! Missed this one... would love to meet up the next round! Looks like fun!!!

Next time!!!! Xx sounds like a fun catch up and thanks for sharing x

Congratulations @datascience! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77