What Australia Day means to me!..My Salvation Day!! Australia Day all the way!! NOT Invasion Day,....

in #teamaustralia7 years ago

DSCF2795.JPG
I am a first fleet ancestor and detest it being called invasion day! My convict ancestors John Herbert and Deborah Ellam had no choice in being sent to Australia! They got thrown in a ship and sent across the other side of the world to a Penal Colony.. Which constituted hard labour as settlement commenced. I call it Salvation Day myself! Because if John Herbert had of not been sent to Australia, I wouldn't be here today as he was sentenced to hang, but got a pardon and sent to the penal colony instead. There were 759 convicts. (586 men, 192 women) 17 died before arrival. The second fleet was called the death fleet. I am grateful my ancestors survived. And am proud they were the 4th couple to be married at Parramatta!
Yes the Aborigines were here first, but my ancestors were not here by choice! I am sure that the Aborigines love all the mod cons of our modern day, (good food, cars, clothes etc) as I do, as opposed to living the way of life as their stone age ancestors or doing the hard yards of the Convicts!
DSCF2839.JPG
My First Fleet Ancestors did do "the hard yards!" Upon getting their pardons they tried to make a life in this new, strange Country, and there were struggles a plenty... I am PROUD that my Herbert Ancestor's Pioneered Eugowra, NSW, having been given "A Selection" of land to try and make home with his wife and children. A plaque of a Dozen or so Pioneers is on a bit of Granite there.. And I am Proud to see my maiden name there on a plaque in the town I grew up in!

DSCF2804.JPG
For the record, I was born in Australia, and am also Indigenous to OUR Country. The very same Country our Soldiers fought to protect to make it what it is today. I am sure that if I went to the Monarchy and asked for an apology for sending my ancestors across the other side of the world they would laugh at me. Yes the Aborigines did suffer grief, but so did the Europeans... It would be lovely to think we could move forward and look to the future, instead of dwelling on the past, and celebrate Australia Day, for what it is TODAY!!

Sort:  

Great post, however why do you celebrate a date which is a hurtful one to your ancestors?

Our ancestors fought against the crown and detested what England had done to it's children.

They fought to become an independent nation not a penal colony and successfully did so with the formation of our own country today called Australia which passed in 1901 with the federation act.

We have taken a step back and if our ancestors were alive today they would slap us silly for undoing the blood, sweat and tears they shed forming this nation.

We are not slaves but free men and deserve our dignity.

Our ancestors died for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62